Accountant Forums


Reply
Thread Tools

Help in starting new company file

 
 
Jim Schwisow
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-26-2004, 09:03 PM
My company file is getting rather large and I have decided to start a
new company file to avoid future data corruption problems. I
understand that I can export lists from my old company file and then
export them into the new company file. I am wondering how to handle
the balances for my customers that have account receivables. I would
like to maintain the aging detail of the account balances. Is this
possible? Also what should I do in my old company before I export the
information to inport into the new company file?

Thanks,
Jim
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Karl Irvin
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-26-2004, 09:31 PM
See the Beginning Balance Transfer Utility at www.q2q.us


"Jim Schwisow" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) om...
> My company file is getting rather large and I have decided to start a
> new company file to avoid future data corruption problems. I
> understand that I can export lists from my old company file and then
> export them into the new company file. I am wondering how to handle
> the balances for my customers that have account receivables. I would
> like to maintain the aging detail of the account balances. Is this
> possible? Also what should I do in my old company before I export the
> information to inport into the new company file?
>
> Thanks,
> Jim



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Tim Kroesen
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-26-2004, 11:46 PM
Can't he do that without buying your s/w?

My apologies if that's a freebie.

Tim K

"Karl Irvin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:WGfRb.120739$Rc4.944360@attbi_s54...
> See the Beginning Balance Transfer Utility at www.q2q.us
>
>
> "Jim Schwisow" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:(E-Mail Removed) om...
> > My company file is getting rather large and I have decided to start

a
> > new company file to avoid future data corruption problems. I
> > understand that I can export lists from my old company file and then
> > export them into the new company file. I am wondering how to handle
> > the balances for my customers that have account receivables. I would
> > like to maintain the aging detail of the account balances. Is this
> > possible? Also what should I do in my old company before I export

the
> > information to inport into the new company file?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Jim

>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Karl Irvin
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-27-2004, 12:03 AM
Hi Tim

Sure he can. It's not a freebie but the website has some information about
starting a new file that's useful whether you buy the software or not. The
decision to purchase the software should be based on cost and accuracy
considerations.
If you have to key many open invoices, the software is the cheaper route
unless your time is free. A few days ago, we had a customer that transferred
1,900 + open invoices. He was glad not to have to type those manually.

"Tim Kroesen" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
newsFhRb.27872$(E-Mail Removed) ink.net...
> Can't he do that without buying your s/w?
>
> My apologies if that's a freebie.
>
> Tim K
>
> "Karl Irvin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:WGfRb.120739$Rc4.944360@attbi_s54...
> > See the Beginning Balance Transfer Utility at www.q2q.us
> >
> >
> > "Jim Schwisow" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > news:(E-Mail Removed) om...
> > > My company file is getting rather large and I have decided to start

> a
> > > new company file to avoid future data corruption problems. I
> > > understand that I can export lists from my old company file and then
> > > export them into the new company file. I am wondering how to handle
> > > the balances for my customers that have account receivables. I would
> > > like to maintain the aging detail of the account balances. Is this
> > > possible? Also what should I do in my old company before I export

> the
> > > information to inport into the new company file?
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > > Jim

> >
> >

>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Tim Kroesen
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-27-2004, 02:31 AM
Well I sure hope OP doesn't have that many customers that owe him money
<g>; so what you're saying is qb has no native ability to do the job
properly; like just exporting lists but little else. Since he stands to
lose all his 'history' anyway cannot OP simply condense? If his 'lists'
are close to allowable limits this won't of course help; but neither
will his strategy of opening a new company file and trying to import
such lists; or your utility for that matter...

Tim K

"Karl Irvin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:LVhRb.121400$Rc4.951231@attbi_s54...
> Hi Tim
>
> Sure he can. It's not a freebie but the website has some information

about
> starting a new file that's useful whether you buy the software or not.

The
> decision to purchase the software should be based on cost and accuracy
> considerations.
> If you have to key many open invoices, the software is the cheaper

route
> unless your time is free. A few days ago, we had a customer that

transferred
> 1,900 + open invoices. He was glad not to have to type those manually.
>
> "Tim Kroesen" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> newsFhRb.27872$(E-Mail Removed) ink.net...
> > Can't he do that without buying your s/w?
> >
> > My apologies if that's a freebie.
> >
> > Tim K
> >
> > "Karl Irvin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > news:WGfRb.120739$Rc4.944360@attbi_s54...
> > > See the Beginning Balance Transfer Utility at www.q2q.us
> > >
> > >
> > > "Jim Schwisow" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > > news:(E-Mail Removed) om...
> > > > My company file is getting rather large and I have decided to

start
> > a
> > > > new company file to avoid future data corruption problems. I
> > > > understand that I can export lists from my old company file and

then
> > > > export them into the new company file. I am wondering how to

handle
> > > > the balances for my customers that have account receivables. I

would
> > > > like to maintain the aging detail of the account balances. Is

this
> > > > possible? Also what should I do in my old company before I

export
> > the
> > > > information to inport into the new company file?
> > > >
> > > > Thanks,
> > > > Jim
> > >
> > >

> >
> >

>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Jim Schwisow
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-27-2004, 04:11 AM
Karl,

I looked at your software, but I am on cash basis accounting and have
QB2000 Pro, both of which make your software not useable for me.

Jim

"Karl Irvin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:<WGfRb.120739$Rc4.944360@attbi_s54>...
> See the Beginning Balance Transfer Utility at www.q2q.us

 
Reply With Quote
 
Karl Irvin
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-27-2004, 04:39 AM
Tim

That's correct no native ability. You do loose comparative FS history when
you start a new company file as of the first of the current year. You don't
loose the open items if you type or transfer them in. You can start a new
file as of the beginning of the prior year and transfer a whole years
activity into the new file but it's usually more work that it's worth.

Condensing usually doesn't shrink the file all that much. In most cases with
lists, a large number of the entries are no longer needed. With the
appropriate transfer tools you can transfer just the list entries that are
not marked as inactive or just the customers and vendors with an open
balance.


"Tim Kroesen" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:w4kRb.1$(E-Mail Removed) t...
> Well I sure hope OP doesn't have that many customers that owe him money
> <g>; so what you're saying is qb has no native ability to do the job
> properly; like just exporting lists but little else. Since he stands to
> lose all his 'history' anyway cannot OP simply condense? If his 'lists'
> are close to allowable limits this won't of course help; but neither
> will his strategy of opening a new company file and trying to import
> such lists; or your utility for that matter...
>
> Tim K
>
> "Karl Irvin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:LVhRb.121400$Rc4.951231@attbi_s54...
> > Hi Tim
> >
> > Sure he can. It's not a freebie but the website has some information

> about
> > starting a new file that's useful whether you buy the software or not.

> The
> > decision to purchase the software should be based on cost and accuracy
> > considerations.
> > If you have to key many open invoices, the software is the cheaper

> route
> > unless your time is free. A few days ago, we had a customer that

> transferred
> > 1,900 + open invoices. He was glad not to have to type those manually.
> >
> > "Tim Kroesen" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > newsFhRb.27872$(E-Mail Removed) ink.net...
> > > Can't he do that without buying your s/w?
> > >
> > > My apologies if that's a freebie.
> > >
> > > Tim K
> > >
> > > "Karl Irvin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > > news:WGfRb.120739$Rc4.944360@attbi_s54...
> > > > See the Beginning Balance Transfer Utility at www.q2q.us
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > "Jim Schwisow" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > > > news:(E-Mail Removed) om...
> > > > > My company file is getting rather large and I have decided to

> start
> > > a
> > > > > new company file to avoid future data corruption problems. I
> > > > > understand that I can export lists from my old company file and

> then
> > > > > export them into the new company file. I am wondering how to

> handle
> > > > > the balances for my customers that have account receivables. I

> would
> > > > > like to maintain the aging detail of the account balances. Is

> this
> > > > > possible? Also what should I do in my old company before I

> export
> > > the
> > > > > information to inport into the new company file?
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > Jim
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >

> >
> >

>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting company file over ksluettel Quickbooks 0 09-03-2011 03:34 PM
Add starting balance to new company after interview M.L. Quickbooks 1 04-20-2006 02:14 PM
How do I create a new (empty) company file based on accounts, vendors etc. from another company file? Dan E Quickbooks 2 01-12-2006 08:11 PM
exporting from one company file to a new company file? news@celticbear.com Quickbooks 6 02-25-2005 10:12 PM
"The Starting balance entered ... does not match the starting balance calculated Alex Sidline Microsoft Money 7 10-18-2003 03:32 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 AM.
Posts in this forum do not constitute the advice of AccountantForums.com or its members. Financial advice should always be taken from qualified advisors before committing to a financial decision.