Accountant Forums


Reply
Thread Tools

renaming file in Q 2011 desktop

 
 
Jeff@nospam.invalid
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2012, 03:47 PM
Now that Quicken creates just one file instead of the many files it used
to, how does one rename a file? Is it OK to just rename the file itself
or does it need to be done from within Quicken as it used to have to be?

(Better safe than sorry ....)

Jeff
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Tim Conway
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2012, 06:14 PM

<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:jgeb6q$ef9$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Now that Quicken creates just one file instead of the many files it used
> to, how does one rename a file? Is it OK to just rename the file itself or
> does it need to be done from within Quicken as it used to have to be?
>
> (Better safe than sorry ....)


I'm guessing here, but it seems it would probably be safer to do it from
within Quicken so it knows where to look for it. Other than that I don't
see a problem.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
ps56k
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2012, 06:25 PM

<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:jgeb6q$ef9$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Now that Quicken creates just one file instead of the many files it used
> to, how does one rename a file? Is it OK to just rename the file itself or
> does it need to be done from within Quicken as it used to have to be?
>
> (Better safe than sorry ....)
>
> Jeff


Logic would say it doesn't matter -
as if the file were externally created on a flash drive...
You would have to find & Open it manually first, to set the "last used"
stamp...



 
Reply With Quote
 
John Pollard
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2012, 06:58 PM
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote

Now that Quicken creates just one file instead of the many files it used
to, how does one rename a file? Is it OK to just rename the file itself
or does it need to be done from within Quicken as it used to have to be?

---------------------------------------------

I think Intuit has already made the decision for you: there is no longer a
"rename" feature in the newer versions of Quicken (the ones with all your
data in a single Windows file).

 
Reply With Quote
 
Jeff@nospam.invalid
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2012, 10:47 PM
On 2/2/12 1:58 PM, John Pollard wrote:
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote
>
> Now that Quicken creates just one file instead of the many files it used
> to, how does one rename a file? Is it OK to just rename the file itself
> or does it need to be done from within Quicken as it used to have to be?
>
> ---------------------------------------------
>
> I think Intuit has already made the decision for you: there is no longer
> a "rename" feature in the newer versions of Quicken (the ones with all
> your data in a single Windows file).
>

That is why I asked the question. The rename function seems to have
disappeared but I was not sure if I just could not find it.
Thanks John.
 
Reply With Quote
 
ps56k
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2012, 11:30 PM
They probably had it for the early versions
where all the separate Q files had to be renamed together...
and mere mortals could not be trusted to perform that task.
And now - well - single file rename should be doable by most people -


 
Reply With Quote
 
R. C. White
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2012, 11:56 PM
Hi, John.

I haven't tried it, but can't we just Save a copy as... a new name? And
then open that copy with the new name? And then, optionally, delete the
original file?

RC
--
R. C. White, CPA
San Marcos, TX
(Retired. No longer licensed to practice public accounting.)
(E-Mail Removed)
Microsoft Windows MVP (2002-2010)
(Using Quicken 2012 Deluxe R 5 and Windows Live Mail in Win7 x64)


"John Pollard" wrote in message news:jgembm$ksg$(E-Mail Removed)...

<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote

Now that Quicken creates just one file instead of the many files it used
to, how does one rename a file? Is it OK to just rename the file itself
or does it need to be done from within Quicken as it used to have to be?

---------------------------------------------

I think Intuit has already made the decision for you: there is no longer a
"rename" feature in the newer versions of Quicken (the ones with all your
data in a single Windows file).

 
Reply With Quote
 
Margaret
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-03-2012, 01:13 AM
R. C. White wrote:
> Hi, John.
>
> I haven't tried it, but can't we just Save a copy as... a new name? And
> then open that copy with the new name? And then, optionally, delete the
> original file?


Indeed we can, RC! :-)

Regards,

Margaret
 
Reply With Quote
 
Han
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-03-2012, 01:18 AM
Margaret <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in news:jgfcb7$r66$1@dont-
email.me:

> R. C. White wrote:
>> Hi, John.
>>
>> I haven't tried it, but can't we just Save a copy as... a new name? And
>> then open that copy with the new name? And then, optionally, delete the
>> original file?

>
> Indeed we can, RC! :-)
>
> Regards,
>
> Margaret


It's what I do, when I feel like it. As a matter of fact, I'll do it next
because something in my Discover card downloads might be screwed up. I
keep getting some double downloads, i.e. repeat downloads of transacrions
already downloaded and matched. Maybe making a new file without all the
deletions/overwrites in the database would be smarter.
--
Best regards
Han
email address is invalid
 
Reply With Quote
 
Andrew
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-03-2012, 01:00 PM
But I have always wondered why Intuit decided to drop the rename
function within Quicken. I think it causes more worries and angst than
it solved. I would have preferred it to stay rather than having to drag
up Windows Explorer to do a rename, however rare.


--
-------------------------------------------------------------
Regards -

- Andrew
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Divorced in 2011 - how file taxes with IRS/NYS for 2011? Wally Tax 5 03-18-2012 03:42 AM
CCH Tax News Headlines - June 1, 2011 Federal Headlines: 6/1/2011 - Final Re TaxService@aol.com Tax 0 06-01-2011 04:06 PM
Renaming File on Quicken 2010 drbrad Quicken 0 12-24-2010 04:44 PM
Renaming Company file and Business Plan gerald_forsburg@hotmail.com Quickbooks 0 09-14-2008 06:33 PM
Renaming a company file Barpos Technologies Microsoft Accounting 2 03-06-2007 02:14 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 PM.
Posts in this forum do not constitute the advice of AccountantForums.com or its members. Financial advice should always be taken from qualified advisors before committing to a financial decision.