Accountant Forums


Reply
Thread Tools

Stock Purchase won't subtractfrom cash balance Help Please

 
 
BLarrain
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      12-31-2003, 04:11 PM
I have a Harris Direct Brokerage account that works fine with the downloaded
transactions from when I began doing that this May. But I am trying to go back
& get the historical transactions individually entered in the account. I am
also trying to get rid of the placeholder entries it automatically generates. I
have found it seem better to do it by just entering them manually & then the
place holder gets reduced & finally goes away when all are entered.

But no matter what I do Quicken 2004 it will not enter a buy a stock
transaction & have it subtract from the cash value even though I am using the
same investment transactions types as shown by the autodownload for the current
ones. Instead I just get a NA in the cash amount column with nothing changed in
the cash balance column.

I have a couple of separate brokerage accounts & have entered several
historical transactions only to find out they all have the NA. Frustrating & a
lot of time wasted. What am I doing wrong? I also tried entering a cash blanace
via the other cash transaction type to have an existing cash balance equal to
all the stock purchases with a date a year earlier than the 1st historical
stock purchase so there was cash in the account 1st but it still won't subtract
it from the cash balance. This same problem exist for any div etc. Again I am
entering them exactly as the current downloaded ones are entered.

Example downloaded
shows boght stock 133.47 shares @ 29.22049 with + 3935 in the investment
account & - 3935 in red in the cash account.

Me shows
I bought stock 133.47 shares @ 29.33049 with a +3935 in investment amount & NA
in the cash account with no change in cash balance column.

Any knowledgeable help would be appreciated.

Barbara L
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
John Pollard
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      12-31-2003, 09:09 PM
BLarrain wrote:
> I have a Harris Direct Brokerage account that works fine with the
> downloaded transactions from when I began doing that this May. But I
> am trying to go back & get the historical transactions individually
> entered in the account. I am also trying to get rid of the
> placeholder entries it automatically generates. I have found it seem
> better to do it by just entering them manually & then the place
> holder gets reduced & finally goes away when all are entered.
>
> But no matter what I do Quicken 2004 it will not enter a buy a stock
> transaction & have it subtract from the cash value even though I am
> using the same investment transactions types as shown by the
> autodownload for the current ones. Instead I just get a NA in the
> cash amount column with nothing changed in the cash balance column.
>
> I have a couple of separate brokerage accounts & have entered several
> historical transactions only to find out they all have the NA.
> Frustrating & a lot of time wasted. What am I doing wrong? I also
> tried entering a cash blanace via the other cash transaction type to
> have an existing cash balance equal to all the stock purchases with a
> date a year earlier than the 1st historical stock purchase so there
> was cash in the account 1st but it still won't subtract it from the
> cash balance. This same problem exist for any div etc. Again I am
> entering them exactly as the current downloaded ones are entered.
>
> Example downloaded
> shows boght stock 133.47 shares @ 29.22049 with + 3935 in the
> investment account & - 3935 in red in the cash account.
>
> Me shows
> I bought stock 133.47 shares @ 29.33049 with a +3935 in investment
> amount & NA in the cash account with no change in cash balance column.


See if this helps:

http://makeashorterlink.com/?F30D51DE6


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Barbara Larrain
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-01-2004, 06:30 AM
I can sometimes get it to work with ones where there is a placeholder but in
several others I do not have place-kickers. That process was what I was
doing. Any other ideas. Thanks


"John Pollard" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:ZTGIb.1191$(E-Mail Removed)...
> BLarrain wrote:
> > I have a Harris Direct Brokerage account that works fine with the
> > downloaded transactions from when I began doing that this May. But I
> > am trying to go back & get the historical transactions individually
> > entered in the account. I am also trying to get rid of the
> > placeholder entries it automatically generates. I have found it seem
> > better to do it by just entering them manually & then the place
> > holder gets reduced & finally goes away when all are entered.
> >
> > But no matter what I do Quicken 2004 it will not enter a buy a stock
> > transaction & have it subtract from the cash value even though I am
> > using the same investment transactions types as shown by the
> > autodownload for the current ones. Instead I just get a NA in the
> > cash amount column with nothing changed in the cash balance column.
> >
> > I have a couple of separate brokerage accounts & have entered several
> > historical transactions only to find out they all have the NA.
> > Frustrating & a lot of time wasted. What am I doing wrong? I also
> > tried entering a cash blanace via the other cash transaction type to
> > have an existing cash balance equal to all the stock purchases with a
> > date a year earlier than the 1st historical stock purchase so there
> > was cash in the account 1st but it still won't subtract it from the
> > cash balance. This same problem exist for any div etc. Again I am
> > entering them exactly as the current downloaded ones are entered.
> >
> > Example downloaded
> > shows boght stock 133.47 shares @ 29.22049 with + 3935 in the
> > investment account & - 3935 in red in the cash account.
> >
> > Me shows
> > I bought stock 133.47 shares @ 29.33049 with a +3935 in investment
> > amount & NA in the cash account with no change in cash balance column.

>
> See if this helps:
>
> http://makeashorterlink.com/?F30D51DE6
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
John Pollard
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-01-2004, 01:58 PM
Barbara Larrain wrote:
> I can sometimes get it to work with ones where there is a placeholder
> but in several others I do not have place-kickers. That process was
> what I was doing. Any other ideas. Thanks


No, I don't have any other ideas, sorry. But the behaviour you describe so
closely follows the pattern described by Intuit for entering investment
transactions with dates *earlier* than placeholder transactions, that if I
were you, I would search harder for placeholder transactions. It seems to
me that your *current* downloaded non-placeholder transactions "work"
because they are dated later than any placeholder transactions in their
respective accounts.


 
Reply With Quote
 
P. Williams
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-04-2004, 02:07 PM
John,

Where did Intuit define the problem?

Thanks, Paul


"John Pollard" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:bGVIb.4090$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Barbara Larrain wrote:
> > I can sometimes get it to work with ones where there is a placeholder
> > but in several others I do not have place-kickers. That process was
> > what I was doing. Any other ideas. Thanks

>
> No, I don't have any other ideas, sorry. But the behaviour you describe

so
> closely follows the pattern described by Intuit for entering investment
> transactions with dates *earlier* than placeholder transactions, that if I
> were you, I would search harder for placeholder transactions. It seems to
> me that your *current* downloaded non-placeholder transactions "work"
> because they are dated later than any placeholder transactions in their
> respective accounts.
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
John Pollard
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      01-04-2004, 04:41 PM
P. Williams wrote:
> John,
>
> Where did Intuit define the problem?


I included the link in an earlier post in this thread; but when I try that
link now, it does not go to Intuit's knowlege base. I am not sure what the
problem is, but I got another "shorter link", and tested it and it seems to
work.

http://makeashorterlink.com/?A2F7514F6


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying inventory. Cash purchase or purchase order? Andyman007 Microsoft Accounting 1 01-24-2008 01:08 AM
Instead of Cash Purchase, it should be Purchase sidq Microsoft Accounting 0 01-25-2007 02:57 AM
Need Help: How to handle stock merger for CASH and stock. See inside. theloneranger@verizon.net Quicken 8 04-08-2006 04:11 PM
Employee stock purchase question - help please? Andy Green Tax 4 01-28-2004 11:15 PM
Account list balance does not match register balance...help...please??? David Evans Microsoft Money 6 12-23-2003 01:22 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 PM.
Posts in this forum do not constitute the advice of AccountantForums.com or its members. Financial advice should always be taken from qualified advisors before committing to a financial decision.