How get rid of nagging Registration screens

Discussion in 'Quicken' started by ***Jamoke***, Jan 16, 2004.

  1. ***Jamoke***

    ***Jamoke*** Guest

    I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these nagging
    screens. Anyone know how?
     
    ***Jamoke***, Jan 16, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. In article <TTJNb.9908$ct4.2483@lakeread05>, rmo555
    @cox.net says...
    > I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these nagging
    > screens. Anyone know how?
    >
    >
    >

    In some applications you can tell it that you want to
    register by snail mail; print out the form and then
    throw it away. In some applications that will fix the
    nags. I do not know if it will happen in Quicken
    though.

    Robin
     
    Robin Brumfield, Jan 16, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ***Jamoke***

    Urinal Guest

    Robin Brumfield <> wrote in message news:<>...
    > In article <TTJNb.9908$ct4.2483@lakeread05>, rmo555
    > @cox.net says...
    > > I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these nagging
    > > screens. Anyone know how?
    > >



    In Q2002 (and several earlier versions) there is an entry in one of
    Quickens .ini files. I don't recall the name or what I changed the
    value to at the moment but if you like, email me and I'll check it
    out. I believe it was the .ini file in c:\windows and once you have it
    open it should be pretty obvious.

    U
     
    Urinal, Jan 16, 2004
    #3
  4. ***Jamoke***

    Newsgroup Guest

    I may be wrong, but if you don't register, I don't think you can download or
    use Quicken's online features. (Unless that registry change suggested by
    the previous responder fools the program into thinking it's registered.) If
    you don't use any online features, that shouldn't matter, however.

    "***Jamoke***" <> wrote in message
    news:TTJNb.9908$ct4.2483@lakeread05...
    > I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these

    nagging
    > screens. Anyone know how?
    >
    >
     
    Newsgroup, Jan 17, 2004
    #4
  5. ***Jamoke***

    Urinal Guest

    "Newsgroup" <> wrote in message news:<>...
    > I may be wrong, but if you don't register, I don't think you can download or
    > use Quicken's online features.


    That would be my guess as well.


    (Unless that registry change suggested by
    > the previous responder fools the program into thinking it's registered.)


    It is not a registry change.

    I actually stumbled on to it when I installed onto a new PC and found
    that the version I was using was no longer supported and the
    registration process insisted I upgrade. Hence the registration flag
    would never get set and Quicken continued to attempt registration on
    every startup.

    U.
     
    Urinal, Jan 20, 2004
    #5
  6. ***Jamoke***

    ***Jamoke*** Guest

    Is there a way around this? I found the Quicken.ini file in the Windows
    folder - but changing the values under [Registration] didn't do anything I
    could notice.



    "Urinal" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > "Newsgroup" <> wrote in message

    news:<>...
    > > I may be wrong, but if you don't register, I don't think you can

    download or
    > > use Quicken's online features.

    >
    > That would be my guess as well.
    >
    >
    > (Unless that registry change suggested by
    > > the previous responder fools the program into thinking it's registered.)

    >
    > It is not a registry change.
    >
    > I actually stumbled on to it when I installed onto a new PC and found
    > that the version I was using was no longer supported and the
    > registration process insisted I upgrade. Hence the registration flag
    > would never get set and Quicken continued to attempt registration on
    > every startup.
    >
    > U.
     
    ***Jamoke***, Jan 22, 2004
    #6
  7. I saw that file too. How about RENAMING the quicken.ini file. Then copy that
    file and Rename it again Quicken.ini.
    Then delete that whole section at the end about Registration.

    See whether that gets rid of the pop-up nag. It should.

    If any problems with running quicken then, just take the renamed file and
    call it quicken.ini again.

    It is worth a try.

    I registered so I cannot try it on my own.

    Post results please.

    Karl
    "***Jamoke***" <> wrote in message
    news:CLHPb.4866$Se.1664@lakeread05...
    > Is there a way around this? I found the Quicken.ini file in the Windows
    > folder - but changing the values under [Registration] didn't do anything I
    > could notice.
    >
    >
    >
    > "Urinal" <> wrote in message
    > news:...
    > > "Newsgroup" <> wrote in message

    > news:<>...
    > > > I may be wrong, but if you don't register, I don't think you can

    > download or
    > > > use Quicken's online features.

    > >
    > > That would be my guess as well.
    > >
    > >
    > > (Unless that registry change suggested by
    > > > the previous responder fools the program into thinking it's

    registered.)
    > >
    > > It is not a registry change.
    > >
    > > I actually stumbled on to it when I installed onto a new PC and found
    > > that the version I was using was no longer supported and the
    > > registration process insisted I upgrade. Hence the registration flag
    > > would never get set and Quicken continued to attempt registration on
    > > every startup.
    > >
    > > U.

    >
    >
     
    Karolus des Reyches197, Jan 24, 2004
    #7
  8. ***Jamoke***

    BC Berry Guest

    On Thu, 15 Jan 2004 23:37:04 -0500, "***Jamoke***" <>
    wrote:

    >I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these nagging
    >screens. Anyone know how?
    >


    ctrl-shift-one step update
    --
    E-mail address is invalid due to spam overflow - Please reply in the newsgroup.
    --
     
    BC Berry, Jan 24, 2004
    #8
  9. ***Jamoke***

    ***Jamoke*** Guest

    What am I missing? If I do what you say, it's the same as deleting the
    Registration section - yes? If so, I already tried that - and Quicken put
    it back in.


    "Karolus des Reyches197" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > I saw that file too. How about RENAMING the quicken.ini file. Then copy

    that
    > file and Rename it again Quicken.ini.
    > Then delete that whole section at the end about Registration.
    >
    > See whether that gets rid of the pop-up nag. It should.
    >
    > If any problems with running quicken then, just take the renamed file and
    > call it quicken.ini again.
    >
    > It is worth a try.
    >
    > I registered so I cannot try it on my own.
    >
    > Post results please.
    >
    > Karl
    > "***Jamoke***" <> wrote in message
    > news:CLHPb.4866$Se.1664@lakeread05...
    > > Is there a way around this? I found the Quicken.ini file in the Windows
    > > folder - but changing the values under [Registration] didn't do anything

    I
    > > could notice.
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > "Urinal" <> wrote in message
    > > news:...
    > > > "Newsgroup" <> wrote in message

    > > news:<>...
    > > > > I may be wrong, but if you don't register, I don't think you can

    > > download or
    > > > > use Quicken's online features.
    > > >
    > > > That would be my guess as well.
    > > >
    > > >
    > > > (Unless that registry change suggested by
    > > > > the previous responder fools the program into thinking it's

    > registered.)
    > > >
    > > > It is not a registry change.
    > > >
    > > > I actually stumbled on to it when I installed onto a new PC and found
    > > > that the version I was using was no longer supported and the
    > > > registration process insisted I upgrade. Hence the registration flag
    > > > would never get set and Quicken continued to attempt registration on
    > > > every startup.
    > > >
    > > > U.

    > >
    > >

    >
    >
     
    ***Jamoke***, Jan 26, 2004
    #9
  10. ***Jamoke***

    ***Jamoke*** Guest

    Tried this - but it didn't work. It's as if I did nothing (Ctl>Alt).


    "BC Berry" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > On Thu, 15 Jan 2004 23:37:04 -0500, "***Jamoke***" <>
    > wrote:
    >
    > >I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these

    nagging
    > >screens. Anyone know how?
    > >

    >
    > ctrl-shift-one step update
    > --
    > E-mail address is invalid due to spam overflow - Please reply in the

    newsgroup.
    > --
     
    ***Jamoke***, Jan 26, 2004
    #10
  11. ***Jamoke***

    BC Berry Guest

    On Sun, 25 Jan 2004 19:55:11 -0500, "***Jamoke***" <>
    wrote:

    >Tried this - but it didn't work. It's as if I did nothing (Ctl>Alt).
    >
    >
    >"BC Berry" <> wrote in message
    >news:...
    >> On Thu, 15 Jan 2004 23:37:04 -0500, "***Jamoke***" <>
    >> wrote:
    >>
    >> >I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these

    >nagging
    >> >screens. Anyone know how?
    >> >

    >>
    >> ctrl-shift-one step update
    >> --
    >> E-mail address is invalid due to spam overflow - Please reply in the

    >newsgroup.
    >> --

    >


    Hmmm - I get a notice saying Q will no longer prompt for
    registratrion. That's hold down ctrl and shift and click one step
    update - the one unter the 'online' pulldown - not the yellow double
    arrow.
    --
    E-mail address is invalid due to spam overflow - Please reply in the newsgroup.
    --
     
    BC Berry, Jan 26, 2004
    #11
  12. ***Jamoke***

    ***Jamoke*** Guest

    WOW!!! Thanks so much...........
    \
    \

    "BC Berry" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > On Sun, 25 Jan 2004 19:55:11 -0500, "***Jamoke***" <>
    > wrote:
    >
    > >Tried this - but it didn't work. It's as if I did nothing (Ctl>Alt).
    > >
    > >
    > >"BC Berry" <> wrote in message
    > >news:...
    > >> On Thu, 15 Jan 2004 23:37:04 -0500, "***Jamoke***" <>
    > >> wrote:
    > >>
    > >> >I don't want to register Quicken 2003 - and want to get rid of these

    > >nagging
    > >> >screens. Anyone know how?
    > >> >
    > >>
    > >> ctrl-shift-one step update
    > >> --
    > >> E-mail address is invalid due to spam overflow - Please reply in the

    > >newsgroup.
    > >> --

    > >

    >
    > Hmmm - I get a notice saying Q will no longer prompt for
    > registratrion. That's hold down ctrl and shift and click one step
    > update - the one unter the 'online' pulldown - not the yellow double
    > arrow.
    > --
    > E-mail address is invalid due to spam overflow - Please reply in the

    newsgroup.
    > --
     
    ***Jamoke***, Feb 2, 2004
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Lemonhead
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    545
    HSalim
    Oct 27, 2006
  2. ***Jamoke***
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    521
    John Pollard
    Feb 5, 2004
  3. JR
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    369
  4. Rashiki777
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,003
    Robert Neville
    Jan 21, 2011
  5. les
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    542
    Stubby
    Mar 24, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page