USA Should I create a business entity first my first rental properties?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi All,

I'm just getting into real estate investing and I want to begin to build my rental property portfolio. Can you let me know if I should create a business entity to purchase these properties under or if I should just purchase them without.

Here is a little background info.

I'm married, 35 years old and live down town Chicago. I have savings but only rent and my wife and I do not own our own home. Together we make about 200k annually at our full time job. We do plan to hire a property manager for all of the investment properties.

Let me know if you have any additional questions.

Also, I am based in Chicago but I will likely make some investments in other states like Indiana. If needed can I just create the business entity in Indiana? I ask because the costs are substantially more in Chicago.

Thanks again,

DTA93433

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
This really isn't an accounting/tax question (per se). However, to protect your personal assets, you should seriously considering incorporating each of these properties (such as an LLC). This not only protects you (personally) from debts owed by the LLC; but it protects each LLC property as well. Regarding this point, I'd recommend seeking the services of a competent real estate attorney. Secondly, for tax purposes, however, be aware of the "passive-activity rules". Real estate activities have a special rule, regarding the deductibility of real estate losses. The current (deductible) limit is only $250k. Generally speaking, rental real restate activities are considered "passive" activities (even if you do materially participate in them). This rule does not apply however to real estate professionals.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Look into an LLC, it's not a lengthy process or complicated. I've always protected myself with an LLC in past business ventures.

Reaction score
Country