What is the difference between net assets and capital?

Reaction score
Hello,

I have just started my AAT a couple of days ago so I'm just learning the basics (sorry if this is a stupid question).

As far as I'm aware, the two equations are as follows:

Net assets = assets - liabilities

Capital = assets - liabilities

So can anyone please tell me what the difference is between net assets and capital? I know that net assets is what the company is worth, and capital is what the company owes to the owner. But aren't these essentially the same thing in terms of balance sheets? Will the net assets always be the same as the capital on a balance sheet? I am yet to find a scenerio where they equal to different amounts, so I don't understand why both amounts should be entered onto a balance sheet?

Again, sorry if this is such a basic question but I'm only on module 2 of level 2!!

Thanks in advance

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Actually Equity = assets - liabilities and is the same as calling it net assets. Capital is a component of equity and represents the investments conributed by shareholders to the company. Equity would also include items such as retained earnings (accumulated profits or losses), MTM on investments (unrealized amounts) and currency translation adjustments as the main items.

Net assets is also the book value of the company. Capital is not what is owed but what investors contributed.

Reaction score
Thanks. I have the AAT book here and it says that capital is what is owed to the owner(s) by the business. So I'm confused now as you're saying that it is what investors contribute. I thought shares/loans are what investors contribute rather than capital?

I think I will have a word with my tutor here as there are too many words that appear to be the same thing eq equity net assets capital working capital etc.

Thanks for your input.

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States