Accountant Forums


Reply
Thread Tools

Transactions NOT Downloading

 
 
JCO
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-02-2010, 11:13 PM
I've noticed for the past 2-3 months, that my Quicken 2010 is not
downloading transactions from my bank, Credit Cards & so forth. When I do
an update, it appears to be getting the data, then turns up with no
transactions.

Any idea?


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Bob Wang
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-03-2010, 09:27 PM
I've noticed that Quicken 2010 H&B does that with EWC for NASA FCU, and
Direct Connect for one of my Citi Business MasterCards.
I don't know of a solution, my workaround is just to download NASA via Web
Connect, and manually enter Citi.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
JCO
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-04-2010, 02:25 AM
That sucks! My Discover always downloaded okay before and it no longer
works either. I wonder if reinstalling Quicken can fix the issues. I will
try.

"Bob Wang" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:hkcpok$jvv$(E-Mail Removed)-september.org...
> I've noticed that Quicken 2010 H&B does that with EWC for NASA FCU, and
> Direct Connect for one of my Citi Business MasterCards.
> I don't know of a solution, my workaround is just to download NASA via Web
> Connect, and manually enter Citi.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Gary E. Ansok
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-04-2010, 05:36 AM
In article <hkdb67$t6j$(E-Mail Removed)>, JCO <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>That sucks! My Discover always downloaded okay before and it no longer
>works either. I wonder if reinstalling Quicken can fix the issues. I will
>try.
>
>"Bob Wang" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>news:hkcpok$jvv$(E-Mail Removed)-september.org...
>> I've noticed that Quicken 2010 H&B does that with EWC for NASA FCU, and
>> Direct Connect for one of my Citi Business MasterCards.
>> I don't know of a solution, my workaround is just to download NASA via Web
>> Connect, and manually enter Citi.
>>


If the account just isn't downloading (as opposed to trying to download
and getting an error), then one thing to check is to go into the Schedule
Updates window and verify that those accounts are checked in the list
of downloads.

I've found that an account stops downloading, and when I go to Schedule
Updates that account isn't checked (and I couldn't figure out why).
Making sure all the accounts are checked fixes the problem.

Gary Ansok
--
Customer: "There are smoke and flames coming from my computer."
Tech Support: "Uh, hang up, unplug the computer from the wall,
and call the local fire department."
Customer: "No, I need to know how to do a backup. Fastest possible method."
 
Reply With Quote
 
JCO
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-04-2010, 09:54 PM
Thanks but that's not what's happening.
1. All things are checked properly.
2. Every download appears to be downloading during an update... that is,
you see a progress bar (type) indicating that something is happening
(downloading transactions).
3. Then I get the results as if there were no transactions to download. No
Errors Messages.

This is why it's taken me 3-months to discover the issue... because it
simply appears to the user that there are no transactions to download.
I'm re-installing the product now.

"Gary E. Ansok" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:hkdmdh$2hd$(E-Mail Removed)...
> In article <hkdb67$t6j$(E-Mail Removed)>, JCO <(E-Mail Removed)>
> wrote:
>>That sucks! My Discover always downloaded okay before and it no longer
>>works either. I wonder if reinstalling Quicken can fix the issues. I
>>will
>>try.
>>
>>"Bob Wang" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>>news:hkcpok$jvv$(E-Mail Removed)-september.org...
>>> I've noticed that Quicken 2010 H&B does that with EWC for NASA FCU, and
>>> Direct Connect for one of my Citi Business MasterCards.
>>> I don't know of a solution, my workaround is just to download NASA via
>>> Web
>>> Connect, and manually enter Citi.
>>>

>
> If the account just isn't downloading (as opposed to trying to download
> and getting an error), then one thing to check is to go into the Schedule
> Updates window and verify that those accounts are checked in the list
> of downloads.
>
> I've found that an account stops downloading, and when I go to Schedule
> Updates that account isn't checked (and I couldn't figure out why).
> Making sure all the accounts are checked fixes the problem.
>
> Gary Ansok
> --
> Customer: "There are smoke and flames coming from my computer."
> Tech Support: "Uh, hang up, unplug the computer from the wall,
> and call the local fire department."
> Customer: "No, I need to know how to do a backup. Fastest possible
> method."


 
Reply With Quote
 
JCO
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-04-2010, 10:12 PM
fyi;
Reinstalling did not fix the issue.

"Gary E. Ansok" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:hkdmdh$2hd$(E-Mail Removed)...
> In article <hkdb67$t6j$(E-Mail Removed)>, JCO <(E-Mail Removed)>
> wrote:
>>That sucks! My Discover always downloaded okay before and it no longer
>>works either. I wonder if reinstalling Quicken can fix the issues. I
>>will
>>try.
>>
>>"Bob Wang" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>>news:hkcpok$jvv$(E-Mail Removed)-september.org...
>>> I've noticed that Quicken 2010 H&B does that with EWC for NASA FCU, and
>>> Direct Connect for one of my Citi Business MasterCards.
>>> I don't know of a solution, my workaround is just to download NASA via
>>> Web
>>> Connect, and manually enter Citi.
>>>

>
> If the account just isn't downloading (as opposed to trying to download
> and getting an error), then one thing to check is to go into the Schedule
> Updates window and verify that those accounts are checked in the list
> of downloads.
>
> I've found that an account stops downloading, and when I go to Schedule
> Updates that account isn't checked (and I couldn't figure out why).
> Making sure all the accounts are checked fixes the problem.
>
> Gary Ansok
> --
> Customer: "There are smoke and flames coming from my computer."
> Tech Support: "Uh, hang up, unplug the computer from the wall,
> and call the local fire department."
> Customer: "No, I need to know how to do a backup. Fastest possible
> method."


 
Reply With Quote
 
Bob Wang
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-04-2010, 10:24 PM
I just noticed that Pentagon Federal Credit Union as well as NASA FCU will
act like there were no transactions to download.
Yeah, I tried reinstalling also.

>>>

"JCO" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:hkfgue$bb8$(E-Mail Removed)...
fyi;
Reinstalling did not fix the issue.

 
Reply With Quote
 
JCO
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanked:
 
      02-04-2010, 11:57 PM
I finally got mine fixed. I went through there support using Live Chat.
Below is a summary of our Chat:
************************
Madan: Welcome to Quicken chat support. My name is Madan. Please give me a
moment while I review the info you provided.
jco Oliviero: k
Madan: Hi jco
jco Oliviero: hi
jco Oliviero: I was on a Quicken Forum and it appears to be an issue for
many folks so this appears to be serious
Madan: What I understand is that you are unable to download transactions
from your Financial Institution. Is that correct?
jco Oliviero: correct and all items in the Update Windows are checked
jco Oliviero: with each intutution, the progress bar goes to 100% and there
are no errors. When done, it says successful
Madan: May I know since when are you facing this issue? { I mean after what
changes this occurred and from which date }
jco Oliviero: This is why the issue has been going on for several months
jco Oliviero: none that I know of
jco Oliviero: today I reinstalled the product but it made no difference
Madan: Please let me know the release version of the program .
Madan: Open Quicken program .
jco Oliviero: k
Madan: Go to the Quicken Help menu >>>>About Quicken .
jco Oliviero: Release 5?
Madan: Okay
Madan: We need to determine if this is an issue with the Quicken program or
with your data file. Therefore, we'll need to create a test file to do this.

1) Open Quicken.
2) Go to the "File" menu >> "New" >> "New Quicken File". Click OK.
3) Name the file as "Test" and save it on the desktop.
4) Go to the "File" menu >> "New" >> "New Quicken Account". Click OK
5) Please select the financial institution in question and try to activate
the account for online services.
Duplicate your issue in this test file.

If you are able to duplicate the issue in the test file, then the issue is
system or program related.
Incase, you are not able to duplicate the issue in the test file, then it is
maybe because of data corruption.
jco Oliviero: Im getting there... hold on
Madan: Sure!
jco Oliviero: Yes it seems to have downloaded 157 transactions. This
instibution worked
Madan: It means that there is data damage in the original file.
Madan: Please open original data file.
jco Oliviero: okay
Madan: We can fix data damage by following the steps mentioned below:

Note: The original file would stay intact at the same location.

1) Go to the "File" menu >> Open.
2) Select and open the original data file.
3) Go to the "File" menu >> "File Operations" >> "Copy".
Madan: 4) It would open a small window with the title "Copy File". Click on
the "Browse" button.
5) Enter a new name, which you wish to use for the data file, in the "File
name" field listed at the bottom of the small window. (Name length should be
less than or equal to 8 characters.)
6) This step is OPTIONAL BUT RECOMMENDED. Select a shorter date range to
include the transactions, only for the past 2-3 years. (The data file is
more likely to get damaged, if it is large in size. The large size might
have caused the corruption therefore this is an important step. )
Madan: 7) Uncheck the option saying "Include All Prior Uncleared
Transactions". Click OK.
8) If you see an option saying "Include All Prior Investment Transactions",
leave it checked. Click "Save".
9) Once the "Copy File" process is complete, you would be prompted to select
either the original file or the new copy. Select the new copy and click OK.
Madan: Let me know when you are ready to perform next steps.
jco Oliviero: Hold on
Madan: Sure !
jco Oliviero: So for step 7, you want that unchecked?
jco Oliviero: before the copy
Madan: Yes
jco Oliviero: done
Madan: Are you in the new copy file ?
jco Oliviero: yes
Madan: 1) Go to the "File" menu >> "File Operations" >> "Validate".
2) Select the new copy that we just created and click OK.
3) This will start the "Validation" process, which will remove the
corruption from the copy file.
Madan: 4) Click OK, once "Validation" is complete.
5) If you get a message that says "Data losses were found, would you like to
view the log now?", select No, and perform the Validation steps, till you
get a message "Validation is complete" (maximum 3 times).
jco Oliviero: Just says Validation has completed
Madan: Hold down the CTRL and SHIFT keys & without releasing them, perform
the steps mentioned below:

1) Go to the "File" menu >> "File Operations" >> "Validate".
2) Select the new copy that we just created and click OK.
3) This will start the "Super Validation" process, which will remove the
corruption from the copy file. (Release the keys, when the "Super
Validation" process starts.)
Madan: 4) Click OK, once "Super Validation" is complete.
jco Oliviero: Valadation Complete
jco Oliviero: no errors that I know of
Madan: Okay
Madan: jco, we need to deactivate the account and reactivate it using the
member ID. Please follow the steps mentioned below to do the same.
Madan: 1. Open Quicken and go to the Tools menu >> Account List.
2. Highlight the account in question and click on the "Edit Details" button.
3. Please click on the "Online Services" tab, present on the top, left
corner of the new window.
4. Click on the "Remove from one step update" button.
Madan: 5. Click on Yes when it asks for the confirmation.
6. Click on OK if it prompts to contact the financial institution to cancel
the service.
7. It should say "This is a manual account" under the One Step Update
section if the account was successfully deactivated.
8. Click on the "Activate One Step Update' button and use the new
ID/password to activate the account.
jco Oliviero: both are deactivated
jco Oliviero: Now I will reactivate
Madan: Okay
jco Oliviero: Its working... need to do another account now
Madan: Great !3
jco Oliviero: The other account won't log in
jco Oliviero: can't connect to PNC Card Service
jco Oliviero: I think this was set up differently... where I had to
download a qif file
Madan: jco, I would like to inform you that QIF is not supported in the
Quicken .
Madan: You can download your bank web site as QFX .
jco Oliviero: It may be that other format
jco Oliviero: yes
jco Oliviero: I will handle that
Madan: 1. Please open Quicken.
2. Please go to Tools>>account list>>select the account.
3. Do right click on it>>select the edit from the drop down list.
4. Click on Online service tab>>remove from one step update.
5. Please Close Quicken.
Madan: 1. Log on to your bank web site outside Quicken.
2. Download QFX file and save it on your computer desktop.
Madan: 3. Now open Quicken.
4. Go to File menu>>import>>Web connect.
5. Select the QFX file you have downloaded and import in the correct
account.
jco Oliviero: Yes I can do that... I know how.
jco Oliviero: I think I can handle this now. Thanks for your help
************************


"Bob Wang" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:hkfhft$s56$(E-Mail Removed)-september.org...
> I just noticed that Pentagon Federal Credit Union as well as NASA FCU will
> act like there were no transactions to download.
> Yeah, I tried reinstalling also.
>
>>>>

> "JCO" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:hkfgue$bb8$(E-Mail Removed)...
> fyi;
> Reinstalling did not fix the issue.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q2005 not downloading all transactions Joseph O'Brien Quicken 2 10-23-2006 01:11 AM
Transactions not downloading star16 Microsoft Money 2 04-23-2005 11:03 PM
Downloading transactions from bank not working correctly encj Microsoft Money 4 03-10-2005 12:01 AM
Q2005: Downloading transactions and not seeing any transactions toreview Andrew DeFaria Quicken 0 11-02-2004 09:53 AM
Transactions Not Downloading Tom Microsoft Money 6 05-28-2004 03:07 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 PM.
Posts in this forum do not constitute the advice of AccountantForums.com or its members. Financial advice should always be taken from qualified advisors before committing to a financial decision.