UK Accept a job offer?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I would like some help making an important decision, probably someone with lots of accounting experience or working as an accountant.

A little bit of background info first..

I have 5 years experience in the industry, I can speak three main European languages and I am part qualified ACCA ( I'm currently sitting P level exams). My problem is that I have had little exposure with P&L but developed experience in areas such as:
Bank recs, fixed asset register preparation ( in a small accounting firm).
AP and payroll B/S recs, journal entries and accruals ( in an international company).

I feel to have enough experience on the Balance sheet side but too little in the P&L side to be competitive for an accountant position at the moment and if it stays this way I would be ACCA qualified in 12 months time with no real chance to get into one of those positions.

At the moment I am out of work and I have been very selective in deciding which job going for, I turned down few job offers just because they didn't give me P&L exposure nor give me the opportunity to develop new skills. Now... I have been recently asked to attend an interview for a job where most of the tasks would be similar to what i have been doing in my past roles ( mainly AP and Payroll duties) however I would also do P&L analysis. They said I would not do management accounts though which I suppose it means I would not be preparing B/S and income statements.

My question is, would P&L analysis experience help me securing a serious Financial Accountant job in 9 months time? ( that's the duration of the contract offered to me). And what exactly P&L analysis mean? I am not even sure of what that would entail.

If doing P&L analysis would not make my CV competitive while applying for an accountant position, what can I do in order to get the right exposure?

Many thanks for your help.

Last edited:

Steve-LevelUp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country