UK Accounting essay HELP - IASB!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

My first post on here, I am currently studying accounting and finance in the UK and need some ideas for an essay.

Essay revolves around why goodwill has different accounting treatment to other intangible assets such as purchased brands, copyrights etc.

I have a few basic ideas however if anyone could come up with points that are for/against the differential treatment of goodwill then it would be appreciated.

AGH the CPA

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
"you must attempt the question yourself before asking for help. You can then state the answer you have so far and explain which aspect you need help with. "

So.... show us what you have so far.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
"you must attempt the question yourself before asking for help. You can then state the answer you have so far and explain which aspect you need help with. "

So.... show us what you have so far.
Firstly, we need to distinguish the differences between goodwill and other intangible assets so that we can see the reasoning behind the differential treatments. The IASB states that the definition for an intangible asset requires an intangible asset to be identifiable so that we can distinguish it from goodwill. It states that goodwill is an asset representing the future economic benefits arising from other assets that cannot be identified or separated. However; if we look at other intangible assets such as a patent, we can separate a patent from the business and it can be sold without affecting other parts of the business. On the contrary goodwill cannot be separated from the business on its own. If I purchased a company, I could not sell goodwill by itself, I would have to sell the whole business whereas if I purchased a business that had a specific patent I could easily sell the patent without it affecting the rest of my operations.