Basic accounting questions

Reaction score
I'm an accounting student that works as an accounting assistant, and I got some doubts regarding account payables and depreciation.

My account payable doubt comes from these 2 scenarios: what if you're paying off a bill from the current month? Let's say you got the bill right away, and wrote the check that same day. Would it be wise to register Expense on debit directly against debit on Bank? What if you it's an account payable you didn't register last month, and you're paying it on the current month, would it be wise to register Expense on debit directly against Bank?

I think the proper way should be Expense on debit and Account Payable on credit when recognizing the Account Payable, obviously Account Payable on debit and Bank on credit when paying it off, even if it's something you didn't register when you had to (months ago) or even if it's something you got right away. I think this is the proper way because you will lose control of your accounts payable if you register the expense directly against bank, if you want to check the account payable of any provider then there will be transactions missing from the general ledger because you registered the expense directly against the bank. Am I correct or am I wrong?

Regarding depreciation, let's say we have a building worth 100,000 that we're going to depreciate in 10 years with the straight line method. We're on our sixth year, we've already depreciated 60,000, and the company decides to build an extra floor worth 20,000. How do I depreciate this? Do I just add up the 20,000 and depreciate it for the remaining 4 years? Do I depreciate the new floor separately on a different time frame, let's say another 10 years?

Thanks a lot for your advice. I feel like these are dumb questions, and I'm too ashamed to ask them to my boss or in class.

Counterofbeans

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States