Buy Land - is this an expense?

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to accounting and have a pretty elementary question.

After buying equipment, it would need to be depreciated/amortized, so the cost of the equipment will be shown as expenses. It's just that the expenses will be spread out over many years (i.e. its useful life).

But say I've spent 1 billion to purchase land. Land is never depreciated in accounting. If it's not depreciated, I don't see how it can become an expense. Would this 1 billion ever be shown as an 'expense' at all? Would it have any direct effect on the income statement?

Thanks a lot!

Reaction score
In general, the journal entries that will be posted with a debit to cash and accumulated depreciation (for the buldings, as land does not depreciate) and credits to the land and building accounts would be correct if cash were the only consideration:

Dr. Cash
Dr. Accumulated Depreciation - Buildings
Cr. Land
Cr. Buildings

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
You are correct. Land is never depreciated, nor expensed/impaired, etc
Although you are probably referring to while its held as an asset, Land can be impaired. Once you have fulfilled held for sale rules and the property at FMV is less than BV, a loss must be taken.

Reaction score
You are correct. Land is never depreciated, nor expensed/impaired, etc
But what if I've spent a lot of money on buying land? Say I've spent 1 billion to buy land, it would still never be shown as an 'expense'? This doesn't make much sense to me.

How come it would have no direct impact on my profit (or net income) at all when I've spent so much money buying land?

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States