USA Can't get foot in the door

Reaction score
I don't know where to turn so I came to this forum to spill out my very short story. Here goes:

As I entered my Junior year in college, I was approached by a family member regarding a job post-graduation. They basically guaranteed that they could land me a job at a particular CPA firm once I finished school. I was told not to bother with internships so that's exactly what I did. As I approached graduation in January 2008, the job was no longer a reality so I went to a career fair in my school with only educational qualifications on my resume. I didn't hear from anyone but I managed to work for someone in my neighborhood during tax season doing very basic work.

Since April 2008, I haven't been able to find ANY CPA firm willing to hire me. I did have an interview at one CPA firm that I thought went very well but, apparently, I thought wrong. I graduated with an excellent GPA and have passed the CPA exam but at this point, I feel like I'm irrelevant as standards change (i.e. International reporting) and numerous other people get hired year after year after year. I started applying to firms out of New York but I have no luck with that either.

I've been going through a very tough time for a long time and I just don't know what to do anymore. I need some help as I'm pushing 30 and have absolutely ZERO work experience. I want to start my auditing/ forensic accounting career so badly but it just seems like it's never going to happen...

Reaction score
Try going private - Many private companies will hire you with no experience and will train you - The salary will be substantially less, but will be a 9-5, virtually stressless environment....

Check craiglist and monster and sites like that...thats what I did meanwhile, acquiring some experience to then maybe go public....better than nothing

Reaction score
I've searched and continue to search every sector but I have no luck whatsoever.

Reaction score