career advice, husband is a radiologist, unique situation

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a 24-year-old girl looking for some career guidance. I recently entered the US in July from Pakistan to join my husband. He was born and raised here in the US and is currently a first year radiology resident and will complete his training in 5 years. He has about 100k in student debt that he will have paid off by the end of residency (because of some other assets he has, clearly not because of his salary).

This is where I come in,

I am new to the states and I am simply just trying to learn the culture. I am learning to drive and once I can do that, it will buy me some independence to get a job. I know that given my lack of communication skills, it will be a challenge to get a well paying job. I have to assimilate myself in the culture by getting a basic job and mingle with people.

My question to you is what do you recommend? I am thinking to start working at retail stores like macy’s or dillard’s or something along those lines. My husband says that’s what he did when he was 16. I have never worked before and he says that it will teach me some valuable lessons and help me assimilate.

While working, I want to continue furthering my education. I have a bachelor’s degree in commerce (sort of like economics) but the equivalent here in America is two years of undergraduate completion. My interest is in business/accounting, etc. but I am open to anything. I really want to do something that will help us with personal finance/accounting when he is a radiologist. I can finish my degree and hopefully get a decent job for a couple years while he is still training.

I just want to get your input on hot fields, what could be helpful for both of us, anything you could recommend regarding furthering my career and have a good return on my educational investment!

I really appreciate your advice and look forward to hearing your thoughts. Thank you! And sorry for the long post.