Career change advice with no work experience

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

A few years ago I graduated from Rutgers University with a BS in Exercise Science & Sport Studies. Last summer, I decided to make a career change into accounting. So far, I have taken a couple online accounting courses that taught me the foundations of accounting for a small business. I have also taken Bookkeeping I at a university which ended in December. In a couple weeks I'll be starting my Financial Accounting course.

So I understand the knowledge I have at the moment is barely the tip of the iceberg for accounting overall. With that said, what are some recommended jobs or internships to help me gain experience with bookkeeping or accounting? Majority of positions I have searched require at least a couple years of experience along with knowledge of certain software. I would say I have basic knowledge of QuickBooks and about intermediate knowledge of Excel (but never performed accounting functions on it).

I saw a video where someone said mastering Excel is crucial to a career in accounting. Right now, I just want to learn to perform basic tasks like double entry bookkeeping. Where can I go to learn more information and practice?

Sorry for a lengthy first post. I am in the processing of applying to grad school for an MBA in Accounting (designed for those with no experience) but in the event I do not get accepted, I want to get a head start on my alternate path. Any feedback is much appreciated.

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Can you clarify why you want to "learn bookkeeping" when you have already "taken bookkeeping 1" ??

Reaction score
I would like to transfer the skills and knowledge from recording/journalizing entires on paper to recording/journalizing entries on computer software since that's the preferred method these days.

The Finance Writer

VIP Member
Reaction score