USA Career change/education requirements!!!!!!!!!!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, I am new to this forum and am looking for some real world advice. I currently have a BA in psychology. I have been working in human service/social services for 4 years and have been working at my counties juvenile detention facility for over 5 years. I am currently looking to change careers and am highly interested in becoming an accountant. Im sure there are quite a few people that have asked the same career change question but I would like to know if someone could point me in the right direction.

I have looked at many masters programs in accounting and it looks like I could be accepted if I take 2 introductory to accounting courses as pre reqs but some don't even require that. If I want to get an entry level junior accountant position should I try and get my masters in accounting or a certificate in accounting that is offered at the local community college since i already have a bachelors degree and basically the certificate will be 30 some credits in just accounting/finance. I wanted to see if I could get a consensus as to what most people do to break into the accounting field that already have a bachelors degree from a completely different field of study. I APPRECIATE ANY HELP THAT I CAN GET WITH THIS!! THANKS!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Disclaimer: I am not in the US so the cultural context may be very different

There are two routes you can take: study accounting full-time, or study part-time alongside a job. I have been doing the latter (my degree was in Maths i.e. completely unrelated) and I honestly think having the practical experience has made me both a better accountant and more employable, even if it's been taking me longer to get fully qualified as a result.