USA Career Change Financial Planner to CPA Business Education Course?'s

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings All. I've been feeling burned out in my current profession. I've taken enough personality quizzes to know that I'm very analytical. I'm thinking I want to get into a more analytical field like accounting, where human emotion doesn't cause analysis to be thrown out the window. However, I'm hitting major roadblocks.
I actually didn't have a business degree when I graduated college, but studied my butt off a few years ago and got my CFP. The frustrating part I'm seeing is that for me to get my Master's of Accountancy would be 60 hours! so that I qualify for my state's requirements. Half of those hours are General business courses that will teach me next to nothing since I have CFP credential and industry experience. I'm trying to find a way around that requirement, as that extra 30 hours would add 2 more years of education on top of the 2 for the accounting courses. I know each state has different requirements for sitting for the CPA. Do any have more lenient restrictions with the General Business courses, and secondly is it based on where you live as to which state can issue it?
Thanks for your help.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I can't help you with your question about the education but I was a successful accountant for 15 years and changed to become a very successful financial adviser for 14 years until recently. Now burned out with that when my market fell apart in 2009/10. Now just scraping the bucket with a sales job to make ends meet.

But if you want to talk about what it is like to be in accounting let me know cause I have similar experience on both sides of the fence.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks for your reply. I'll try to be as succinct as possible.