Career question: Aspergers and work environment

Reaction score
Hi,

My name's Spencer and I'm an accounting student at University of Utah, a top 30 program. I've got about 45 credit hours left. I'm in accounting because I have an interest in finances and business, etc. I've loved the accounting classes I have taken so far. I have been majoring in music, as well. I received a 4-year music scholarship, so that explains the double-major. It even paid for some of my pre-business classes. I majored in accounting because music won't get me a job that I want.

I'll consider myself lucky just to get any reply at all, as it's a difficult situation to deal with, but I might as well try (not to mention the big "wall of text"). Kudos if you actually find it worthwhile to reply.

Yeah, I have Aspergers. Probably not the thing you want to hear. Symptoms vary based on the person, and some people overcome the problems in their youth. Unfortunately, not for me. Anyway, from an outsider's perspective I might look very shy and boring if it comes to social things. I do enjoy playing games, performing music, etc. with people, yet I dislike social activities, because I never participate in those effectively.

My career counselor recently told me I should research to find a job that works for me, and she told me to avoid being an CPA specialized in auditing. Is she being overly hopeful (it's her job to instill confidence in people, obviously)? I have no idea. If I can continue with school, that gives me the big challenge of finding out with an environment that "works for me". Problem is, any job description will describe the job rather than the work environment . Whether it's budget analyzing or financial planning, I'm sure both have something interesting on the technical side. But the description won't say much about how you have to interact with co-workers to accomplish the job.