Cash vs Retained Earnings

Reaction score
Hello,

Sorry i'm a beginner in accounting and i apologies if this question may sound silly.

What is the difference between cash in current assets and retained earnings? In my mind, retained earnings are also cash in the bank account or am I mistaken?

I am asking from a small business perspective.

Thanks,

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Retained earnings is the accumulated profits of a company. Has nothing to do with cash. What gives you the impression its cash? These are the "earnings" a company has "retained" and not paid out as a dividend. Hence the name.

Triest123

VIP Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Sorry i'm a beginner in accounting and i apologies if this question may sound silly.

What is the difference between cash in current assets and retained earnings? In my mind, retained earnings are also cash in the bank account or am I mistaken?

Thanks,
=> As retained profit might contains some non-cash items (such as depreciation,
stock provision, unrealised gain / loss on revaluation of the fixed assets, etc)

Also, the income statement is prepared on the "accrual basis" rather than on
cash basis, that means the revenue is recognised when the goods is delivered
to the customers or the service is rendered, the expenses are recognised when
they are incurred. They are irrelevant to the money is received or paid.

You should buy a accounting book for further understanding!!!!

Reaction score
Country
Canada