USA Choosing between Public Accounting vs. Industry

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello Everyone,

Forgive me if this topic has already been addressed but I am having issues deciding on the best career path for me after school. So to give you a little background on myself, I am currently a full time accounting student at Oklahoma State University and am a Senior. I just recently changed my major from Management to Accounting, and am projected to graduate Fall of 2019. Luckily for me it only added 1 full semester and 2 summer classes compared to the original major.

I guess what I am asking you guys for, is what are the Pro/Cons of Public Accounting vs. Industry? Which one would you recommend pursuing based on your experience? How do I know which one I would be a good fit for?

I am hoping to maybe learn more about what is the best fit for me after taking my Intermediate Accounting 1 and Federal Taxation courses this Fall.

I am still very ignorant about the Accounting industry, and I don't know if I am asking the right questions or what questions I should be asking. So if any of you could share some of your wisdom, I would definitely be grateful!

thanks,
Brandon

Reaction score
Country
United States
I apologize, I am new to the forum and just saw that there is a student section with careers. I understand completely if my thread gets moved.

Steve-LevelUp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
Canada
I'm an industry accountant, so please take that in mind.

Public accounting. You can expect to make more money right out of school. Much more work (long hours, likely involving travel). More job options and self employment options. (eg, 10 years at KPMG can easily lead you to open your own practice. Your schedule is set by your customers (not by you).