Clarification on Accounting Ethics

Reaction score
Hi There,

New to the forums, I am helping a friend out with accounting, and I have little accounting background, and was wondering for some insight on the following Ethical problem:

"Ethical Issue:

In the fall of 2006, encouraged by enthusiasm from american retailers, we launched COLD-FX in the US. In the face of unexpectadly high return rates from U.S. retailers, we announced on April 11, 2007 that we would restate our financial results, due to a reconsideration of the way we apply our revenue recognition policy. As a result of our announcement, Securities Commissions in Alberta, B.C. and Ontario issued interim trading halts on our shares. After restated financials were released, trading in the shares resumed on July 11, 2007."

The questions on this case are listed below in BOLD, while my thoughts/answers are listed after:

Having read over the questions, I’ll try to explain exactly what’s going on.
The company CV technology launched a new product, COLD-FX in 2006. Once the product had been to market for a while, the rate of returns (how many were sold, and how much revenue was recorded) was unreasonably high. This was due to the fact that the way in which CV technology recognized revenue was flawed in some way (question doesn’t say how or why) In other words they weren’t keeping accurate accounting records.
So on April 11, 2007, CV technology announced that they would be restating their financial results (meaning they would go back and take a look at why they were making a mistake in how they were recording their revenue, and eventually come back and make public their ACTUAL revenue)