USA Credit Application

Reaction score
Country
United States
Is it ever appropriate to assign credit using the credit application of an entity that is not the same name as on the orders? I have been doing accounts receivable for over 3 years for an advertising agency. Our customers are either the end consumer businesses for whom we advertise, or other middle man advertising agencies. Some of these middleman agencies are related to the end business, they are separate entities set up by the business to act as their advertising agency, and this agency purchases from us. I work for a company where the owner favors sales over accounting, and sales often sells deals where the contract says due upon receipt but they tell the customer they can pay net 30, and im the one stuck in the middle trying to collect as due upon receipt. Sales sometimes tries to get me to run a credit app with name and references of end business, in order to apply terms to the agency on the order, or to run a credit app for an agency they are dealing through when the order has the name of the end business. And the agency and business are not always related, sometimes its just a random ad agency that advertises for various clients in various industries. Is it ever an appropriate practice to assign credit like this? Ive declined running three credit apps so far, telling sales and the customer that these are not valid credit applications. One customer tried to get me to run a credit app based on an application they had submitted giving permission to another vendor. Again stuck to my guns and refused to process. This is my first accounts receivable position. Im searching for guidance.

Reaction score
Country
United States