USA Credit Memos

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi! First off I'm not an accountant - I'm a programmer for my company and we do not have an accountant. We currently have someone that keeps tracks of things in QuickBooks but she doesn't know any true accounting and I did a lot of T charting and general ledger analysis at my last company because we fed transactions into it from our own developed software, but I'm still not an accountant lol.

I'm trying to understand how credit memos should work. Let's say we have this scenario:

Invoice in 2012 is never paid. This invoice would show up on a P&L report for 2012 correct? It wouldn't show up in today's report even though it is outstanding right?

If we apply a credit memo to that invoice today and leave the date as today - that appears to lower income for the month in the P&L. Is that how it should work? We use SalesLogix and there's a lot of questions flying around that no one can answer because the accounting reports show an income that is lower than what SalesLogix is reporting because of the credit memo. So they turn to me for clarification and I just don't know because to me logically the books should show for the current month what income we actually brought in but I know that accounting can be different.

How should this be handled normally? Is this just how it should function? Should income in the current month always be down some if we write-off bad debt?

Thank you for any light you can shed.

Fidget

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A credit memo basically cancels an invoice (or part thereof) for whatever reason, but they are not raised to write off bad debt.