USA Deciding to become an accountant at 32

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all,

This is my first post.

I am 32 and have had a steady but relatively unsuccessful career in real estate, followed by three years as a professional poker player.

I am getting out of poker and want to get a regular job. I never really liked sales. My undergraduate degree is in philosophy. I am very much a critical thinker, and am very logical and practical.

I believe I would be a very good accountant, because I hate making mistakes, and I have a high degree of integrity and I like doing a good job at whatever I do. Anyway, to get to my point: I have almost zero experience in accounting. As a career move, do you think it would be possible to get an advanced degree (say an MBA) in accounting and get hired, with no experience, to an entry level role?

I am pretty scared for my future at this point, since I am not very good at sales.

Thank you

DTA93433

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Question: Do you like puzzles? Do you reconcile your bank statement every month. :) You may make a good accountant. If you like things in order......that'll help too. My point being (in my opinion) that these are just a few of the characteristics you'll need in a career in accounting (along with the ones you've already mentioned). Accounting, the #'s really do tell a story. It's an exciting time to get into the field. Go for it!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I do enjoy puzzles. One time a coworker couldn't figure out their paycheck and I figured it out for them. It felt really good. I would like to be respected and valued for being good at something at work :) I guess accountants are more introverted than sales people which I also like.

What I don't like is sitting and doing some very repetitive thing all the time. I'd much prefer a challenge. But I guess you have to start out doing repetitive tasks? Not sure.

DTA93433

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States