USA Getting a job with cpa license

Reaction score
Country
United States
so I'm reading online that a cpa license isn't enough for a job in accounting. would it be better to also get an associate's in accounting and work my way up with experience as an accounting assistant? would that be a possible transition? what's your experience with the cpa license? I'm from california btw.

will a cpa license be enough for me to get a career in accounting?

Reaction score
Country
United States
so I'm reading online that a cpa license isn't enough for a job in accounting. would it be better to also get an associate's in accounting and work my way up with experience as an accounting assistant? would that be a possible transition? what's your experience with the cpa license? I'm from california btw.

will a cpa license be enough for me to get a career in accounting?
also I'm studying for CFA as well and I have a bachelor's in economics

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
A CPA license, by itself, is not a guarantee of a career - i.e. absolutely getting a job. An employer will also consider your work experience and your personal qualities.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I always thought of the CPA license as an OPTION after obtaining a bachelor's degree in accounting or finance. I could be wrong but seems to me your post indicates it is possible to obtain a CPA even before obtaining a bachelor's degree, which I think is impossible.

In order to get a CPA, one must have a certain amount of university credits (ie usually a bachelor's at a minimum) and then ALSO work as an accountant under the supervision of a CPA for a couple years and then and only then can you take the CPA exams to land the coveted license.

Drmdcpa

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Most states if not all require 150 hours of college credits to even start the process of sitting for the CPA exam. That means one year beyond the standard BS degree.