Help for Military Vet

Reaction score
New user here...

I was an active duty USAF officer for nearly 15 years...and lost my career due to cutbacks in early 2012. I was lucky to find employment...at a 50% pay cut...but the hours involve rotating shift work. Not likely to change for another 7-10 years.

The loss of my military career has been a terrible blow, and I'm just trying to figure out how best to enter into a new career that may eventually pay well enough that I can overcome loss of income and military retirement.

As a result, I am considering a career change. I need more regular work hours (don't mind long hours, but definitely not rotating shifts that prevent visitation with my minor children who live out of state.)

How can I get started in Finance/Accounting, coming from a scientific background and no formal education in the field? My hope would be to find an accounting/finance job in management. A friend was able to find such a position following graduation, with little experience, and earns nearly what I make now, one year out of college. Must be nice.

My thinking is to work towards either a bachelor's in Finance/Accounting (double major) or an MBA with concentration in Finance/Accounting. Any thoughts on which would be better? Would I be shooting myself in the foot if I completed the degree online? This would allow me to find an accounting job fulltime while attending class in my free time. Seems reasonable. Or, perhaps best to work part time and go to a brick and mortar University?

Appreciate any ideas.

Mike

Reaction score
Mr. Mikerunsfast,

I'm sorry to hear about your sudden halt to your military career. My dad was in the Army for 21 years and he retired as an E7. Fortunately for him, he is able to draw disability and retirement. Thank you for your services.