USA Help. I'm completely confused

Reaction score
Hello,

I just got my first good paying job out of school and need help understating interest on my investments. I am looking into investing a certain amount per month into municipal bonds. Say for example 350 dollars monthly. If the average interest is 5% how would I determine the approximate total in my account after "x" amount of years? Being an engineer I am probably over thinking this. But the compound interest formula accounts for a fixed principle, I believe that my principal is not fixed due to the monthly increase. Someone please set me straight on this!!

Thank You!

Reaction score
By building in some simplifying assumptions, there is a formula that'll take you in the direction of where you're wanting to go...

F = P[((1 + r)^n - 1) / r]

...where F, P, r, and n are, respectively,
• The Future balance (i.e., accumulated amount) of the investment after n periods;
• The amount of each periodic Payment (investment) into the fund;
• The interest Rate or yield per period; and
• The Number of periods.

Since the payments into the fund are intended to be monthly, r will need to be expressed as a monthly rate. In your given scenario r = 0.05 / 12 = .00416••••. Similarly, be sure to state n consistently (# of months, if the investments are made monthly).

To illustrate its use, if you were to sink 350 each month into a fund earning 5% per annum, for 3 years, immediately following the final investment you'd have a total of

350 x ((1.00416•••^36 - 1) / 0.00416•••) ≈ 13,564.

Now for the "yeah, but"s...

• One requirement for the model to be perfectly accurate is that the rate or yield never varies. If it does (as would be typical with a bond fund) your mileage will vary; more or less depending on the volatility and timing of the yield changes.