Help! Need advice

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all, my name is Caleb. I graduated high school about 8 months ago. I started my full time job right out of school and will not be going to college. To be honest my high school career was not what I wanted it to be. I did not get as much accounting knowledge as I wanted to(mainly due to an insufficient teacher). I would like some advice on how to go about gaining a deeper knowledge in accounting. I have been looking into online courses but I don't know much about them. Can anyone give me recommendations on courses(the time it will take and the price)? I would like to work towards a Bachelor's Degree in accounting but would appreciate any help getting my head around online courses and the best one for me.

Thanks for the help!
Caleb

Steve-LevelUp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
Canada
Aside from your degree, which will give you the best understanding of accounting, I recommend you research the following topics. Others, please add in any areas I have missed.

1. Double entry accounting
  2. trial balance
  3. accounts receivable
  4. accounts payable
  5. Income Statement
  6. Balance Sheet
  7. Cash Flow
  8. Financial Ratios

Youtube can provide some good visuals as to how accounting works and might help give you a head start before starting school. However, you MUST still go to school. You will not be able to secure an accounting role without a proper education. Although I understand that education can be expensive (very expensive) it is a worth while investment. Some online schools are also more prolific. My school, Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops, British Columbia is a great school and also have a strong online program. This can allow you to study at a university level, and give you the flexibility to take the courses one at a time.

Reaction score
Country
United States