I want to get good at my job but may be in over my head

Reaction score
I just got out of school and landed a night audit job in the hotel industry. I took it because I just wanted to break into the firm. It is reputable and big. I thought it would look good on my resume (not that job but the promotion I was basically guaranteed if I would help out as NA for a start up hotel). So I did get the promotion about a month ago. Let me state I have a finance degree undergrad from a relatively good state university. My interest lies in investments. A major part of analyzing securities involves understanding accounting statements. I figured working in this field would give me a good understanding of this area of business. I got promoted to staff accountant.

So, on to my question. I feel I may be in over my head. I have only taken two classes in accounting (financial and managerial). They were required classes with my major. I have read through endless accounting statements but most of that doesn't really apply to what I am doing at work.

My duties include preparing the daily (or a revenue summary of the previous days performance), accounts payable, and payroll. Payroll hasn't been assigned to me yet because the controller wants me to be comfortable with the first two before I am given that responsibility.