Interview Monday- help!

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have an interview on Monday for a Financial Accountant position. It's an internal position so they know I have no experience and no qualifications (almost finished first year of AAT) but they have accepted my application form and would like to see me for an interview.

I'm so nervous, I have prepared for the general questions but I am struggling to find technical questions. The key accountabilities on the job spec are as follows:

Bank postings and reconciliations
Journals
VAT return
Balance sheet reconciliations
Accruals and prepayments
Weekly cash forecasting

I have covered these topics in my first year of AAT but I'm assuming I have only covered them on a basic level.

So can anyone think of any questions relating to these that they may ask to test my knowledge? (anything AT ALL will help as I can use them to test my own knowledge) or does anyone have any info that they can give me, or any websites to direct me to?

Secondly, for those that have done AAT, do you cover these in more detail in your 2nd and 3rd year?

Thanks in advance for your help. It may be the difference between me being an accountant or staying in purchase ledger!!

Laura

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
In a sense you've already answered the larger question here. So let's see where we are:
1. You said "they know I have no experience and no qualifications"
2. You said "they would like to see me for an interview"
So - to repeat -- they KNOW you do not have the experience but are willing to speak to you ANYWAY. They think you can LEARN the job.Get it?