Is an accounting job right for me? No prior knowledge of the business/financial field

Reaction score
I'm deciding whether I should major in accounting or not. I've spent a year taking science classes and realized science is probably not my strength.

Is accounting a good fit for me? I know nothing of the business world or any kind of money-related knowledge yet. But I am very hardworking and have very good work ethics. I always study and tend to pay attention to detail. I like doing jobs where it's more objective rather than subjective. I like working with numbers and crunching numbers because it's pretty straightforward.

I feel like being an accountant could be an appropriate fit for me but I'm not sure if I'd be able to succeed at it because I have no prior knowledge of the business and financial field.
I also don't know if I have the interview and personality skills to get an accounting job.

I hear it's a VERY difficult process to become an accountant, especially when taking the CPA exam.

If anyone could offer me some advice, I would greatly appreciate it. :D

Last edited:
Reaction score
I'm currently working on my MBA. I also work for the family business, it's a small, but high-volume retail store. So I'm not a certified accountant or anything, but I'll take a stab at your question.

First thing you should do, go to itunes U and start watching lectures that cover accounting and finance. I think you'll find out pretty quickly whether it's something that interests you or not.

I'm learning accounting because I need it to do my job. I actually really enjoy accounting. I wasn't good at math in school (failed engineering, graduated in anthropology). My accounting prof. this semester said "Accounting is an art, not a science." Obviously basic numeracy is necessary, but many of my fellow students are great at math but struggle with accounting.