Job Experience?

Reaction score
Hi, I am 21 years old, and I am in my second year of undergraduate studies. In the winter of 2012 I will be attending the Business school at Wayne State University to get my bachelors of science in accounting. I will have about 128 credit hours at graduation. However, I don't plan on going into public accounting right after graduation instead I would like to get a job in the private sector working as a staff accountant for a few years, but when I look for accounting jobs pretty much all of them require not only a BA/BS in accounting, but also 3-5 years of job experience in accounting. So my question is even though I still have about 2 years left before I graduate what can I do in order to get the job experience necessary to get a position as a staff accountant? I know interships, but where, and would a job as a bookkeeper, or accounting clerk count as experience towards a position as a staff accountant?

Reaction score
im in the same boat and you my freind , not sure how to answer it yet but its a good time to get expreince as you study , will put u out in front of other grad ; when you graduate yr self.
i would say anything you can do accounts related this could be working with a bookkeeping or as an admin/accounts officer part time.
for me im going down the working with a bookkeeper route.
not sure if its same in the US as uk but we also apply for grad jobs in accountting which is different than internshp as its a full time job after u grad, but the first 2 years are low pay. but great way of getting expreince and yr foot in the door with a good company.

Reaction score
I have no problem with taking a low paying job as a bookkeeper, or accounting clerk for the first few years. My only concern is will the experience I gain working at ether of those jobs be relevant towards a staff accountant position, or some other accounting position which requires a bachelors degree in accounting + 3-5 years of related work experience?