USA Land lease expense - HELP!

Reaction score
Here is the scenario:

I work in banking (don't judge :p). A potential customer wants to build a medical office building on the property of an existing hospital. The customer set up a single asset LLC ("LLC") to own a medical office building. The hospital does not want to sell any land. Therefore, the LLC entered into a land contract with a hospital. The land contract requires a one time payment of $150,000 to be paid no later than 4 days after both parties sign the final land contract. The term of the land contract is 40 years.

I will be lending funds to the LLC. I will require annual tax returns to verify cash flow and test covenants. How will I see the land contract expense in the tax return? I'm guessing that I will see an expense of $3,750 annually; however, will it show up as "lease/rent" or "amortization expense"?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

The Finance Writer

VIP Member
Reaction score
Because lease accounting is one of the most contentious issues in the accounting field -- and proposed rule changes are forthcoming -- your question is challenging. I believe the land lease should be a capitalized asset, which means the cost will appear as amortization expense over the lease term. However, I'm eager to see the other responses you receive to this question.

Reaction score
Here is the scenario:

I work in banking (don't judge :p). A potential customer wants to build a medical office building on the property of an existing hospital. The customer set up a single asset LLC ("LLC") to own a medical office building. The hospital does not want to sell any land. Therefore, the LLC entered into a land contract with a hospital. The land contract requires a one time payment of $150,000 to be paid no later than 4 days after both parties sign the final land contract. The term of the land contract is 40 years.