USA Loss Carry Back allowed for Mark-to-Market Business Trader filing as Sole Proprietor?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have been filing as a Sole Proprietor for 10 years now and in previous years paid some hefty tax bills on my ordinary gains treated as ordinary income. I am using Mark to Market accounting and am classified by the IRS as a "trader in securities".
My question is if I have a large loss this year can I carry back this years loss to the year prior in which I had more income than current loss this year and paid a massive tax bill? Does it matter if you file as a sole Proprietor VS a partnership?
Example of income (taxed at highest rate)
2012 income of $250,000
2013 income of $350,000
2014 income of $500,000
2015 loss of $500,000
What could one expect to be refunded using a loss carry back?
The loss this year is large enough where doing a loss carry back is preferred since carrying forward the loss and using it against future income (gains) is difficult since there is a lot less trading capital. So any answers to my specific question are appreciated.

Last edited:

smallbushelp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
First off, you can't file a partnership return if you are a sole proprietor. And most partnerships are treated as flow through entities and the partners file 1040s. If you do have a qualifying loss for 2015, you can carry it back to your two prior year returns and then forward for up to 20 years in most cases. Depending on the loss and your past taxable income, you could conceivable recover all tax paid in the prior two years. Only a review of your tax returns would provide that information. I suggest you review IRS Publication 536 and then consult a qualified tax accountant.

Reaction score
Country
United States