USA Lost in the world of accounting

Reaction score
Hello all,

This is my first time, but I could use some practical advice. I've been attending college for accounting for four years, switched my major to accounting two years in, and now I have taken a break (I'll leave it at that). I got about two years left until I can graduate, but I've been working for the family company doing bookkeeping for the past two years now.

In the past two years I've had a lot of valuable experience. I started off doing basic tasks, posting daily transactions, reconciling accounts, A/P and A/R management, etc. I have become fairly familiar with the basics, but lately I've felt like I hit the end of the road. Other than myself, there is absolutely no one within the company that has any experience in accounting, and everytime I run into a road block I have no one available for me to ask questions. Lately, I've been getting very stressed out, as everyone depends on me to determine the financial status of the company. And to make things worse, we laid off a lot of employees so I now find myself doing management tasks (writing up quotes and contracts, job costing, hiring), and I still don't have anyone to check my work or tell me if what I'm doing is right. I feel like I should be doing a lot more, but have no idea where to start, or whether or not I even have the time.