USA Most tax efficient method to distribute Trust (Estate) assets

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am successor trustee of a person who deceased in January in Nevada, near the bottom of a stock price dip of at least 10%. The irrevocable trust has its EIN and assets transferred . The estate is not big enough to require form 706 (no estate tax, only income taxes). I have some minor tax personal background but still am not finding understandable information on the estate income taxes. Issues:

1) Should I sell the stocks which have gained back the 10% and more since the date of death or should I transfer them as stocks to the beneficiaries living trusts as stocks to be sold in the destination accounts? Does it make any difference for those that have gained? Either location uses the stepped up basis (which carries forward into the beneficiaries account is stocks are distributed as stocks). I believe the form 1041 will show interest, dividends, cap gain and potentially proceeds of stocks sale but, if I distribute stocks or cash in an amount greater the total of the incomes, form 1041 will show no taxable income due to a distribution credit. True?

2) The Schedule D (Form 1041) uses a net gain, I understand from looking at the forms. That is, a winner of $15,000 an a loser of $-6,000 gain makes a net cap gain of $9,000 to carry to the Form 1041. I had been told that no losses from the stepped up basis were allowed, i.e., had to be shown as $0 gain, not loss of $6K, but that may be only in personal (not estate trust) tax rules. That implies losers should be sold in the trust with a bigger winner rather than passing to the beneficiaries as stock. True?