Need help with the impairment of assets

Reaction score
Country
Germany
Good morning,

I am very new in the accounting area and because of my lack of experience, I wanted to ask for help regarding the impairment of assets...

So far, I have understood that we recognize an inmpairment when the recoverable amount is lower than the carrying amount (original cost).
According to IAS36 there is also a test for it, but it does not include the asset account "inventory". Inventory would be described in IAS2 but I still have not figured out how to impair it.

We are supposed to do journal entries:
The annual report (Volkswagen 2016) states "Impairment losses on inventories amounting to €0.3 billion"
I am not sure what to debit now because it is not a physical damage or obsolence...

Probably:
Dr. Cost of Goods Sold 300
Cr. Inventory 300

But if we are debiting Cost of Goods Sold, how should we do a revearsal that is possible according to IFRS or am I wrong?

Second part:
"impairment losses on intangible assets and property, plant and equipment amounting to €0.3 billion, which are offset by impairment reversals of noncurrent and current lease assets in the amount of €0.1 billion"

Here I also do not know which account I should debit, (intangible asset - not physical / P,P and E - physical)

Probably:
Dr. Impairment Loss 300
Cr. P,P and E and intangible assets 300

For the second part:
Dr. Lease assets
Cr. Impairment Loss?

Thanks in advance for your help, really means a lot, because although we have not discussed this topic yet, I would like to understand it.

Reaction score
Country
Germany
For the first journal entry, I thought that debiting Cost of Goods Sold would be right because it would be a write down then, I guess?

Fidget

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom