USA Non-employee Gift purchases for non-profits

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi there I am a new accountant and am struggling for resources. I have found many websites that reference a policy that in some way discusses how giving a gift to a non-employee is taxable to that person based on certain circumstances. The websites in question will state something like the following:

"In the event that a department chooses to provide a gift to an individual, the gift may be taxable. Gifts purchased with university funds are taxable to the non-employee recipient, per IRS regulations, if any of the following statements are true:
  1. The aggregate value of the gift is greater than $75; or
  2. The gifts are provided on a routine basis; or
  3. The gift is provided in the form of cash (i.e. cash, check, gift card, gift certificate, etc.)."
It says "Per IRS Regulations" but I cannot find any IRS documentation online where it references bullets 1-3. Can someone point me to an IRS publication that discusses these circumstances? I have placed a couple links below to some of the sites I have found that discuss this topic but have been unable to confirm through any IRS publication.

Thanks in advance

kirby

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
Do a web search on "de minimis gifts $75". There you will find many sources that say that IRS has no defined dollar amount for gift limits but many organizations just use $75 as a policy.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thank you Kirby, You answered another question I was having about gift limits very much appreciated.

Reaction score
Country
United States