Not sure what to do.

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new here so please be gentle.

I need some advice career wise.

I'm an accounting student who is getting ready to start applying for jobs. I have read about there being lots of traveling. I thought I had researched the career well but obviously I missed that. For example there's an interactive tool on KPMG's graduate site and most of the time when I put that I was very unsuited to being away for the week I always came up as not compatible.

I can afford to travel for work every now and then I could not make it a regular thing for family reasons. I also cannot leave this city due to family issues again.

So any career that regularly has me traveling and staying in hotels or that requires me to do multiple placements across the country many three years will not be suited.

I've really enjoyed my accountancy degree and want to use it. From what I've understood Audit requires extensive travel.

So which branch of accountancy would allow me to work at the main office pretty much every day? If any. I live very close to Manchester and Liverpool so lots of head offices of big accounting firms. I'm just struggling to find a graduate role that suits my lifestyle.

Would tax be something that keeps me at the main office every day?

Applying for graduate roles is hard with these criteria. I am on track for a first and have 340 UCAS points but so many jobs I'm looking at need me to be 1) Willing to relocate or be 'flexible' 2) Willing to travel a lot and be away 3) Willing to do multiple placements across the country.

I mean I can't be the only person who has a life that's not suited to that?

So any advice on how I can use the accounting skills I've built up over the years and stay close to my family?

I'd really appreciate any help with this. Looking at jobs and constantly seeing I couldn't do them because of location issues is really demotivating me. Not what I need midway through my last year.

Reaction score