Post Trial Balance Adjustments

Reaction score
I'm currently studying AAT Level 3 Diploma in Accounting, in anticipation of my exam after Christmas my tutor has set me some questions to work on, some are post trial balance adjustments which we have never been taught. I will post some of the questions could somebody talk me through how to do them?

1. On 1 January 20X2, a sole trader had a balance b/f on her allowance for doubtful debts account of £345. On 31 December 20X2 she wished to make a specific allowance of £303 against a customer's debt outstanding on that date, but decided no other allowance was needed at that date. The figure which will be included in the allowance for doubtful debts adjustment account for the year ended 31 December 20X2 will be

2. At the end of his accounting period, a sole trader had goods for resale in closing inventory. These will be shown as a current asset in the statement of financial position, and an addition in cost of sales in the income statement.
TRUE
FALSE

3. On 1 January 20X1 a sole trader had a balance b/f on his allowance for doubtful debts account of £150. On 31 December 20X1, the trade receivables outstanding were £8,430. Of these, the trader believed that £80 would definitely be irrecoverable, and that the allowance for doubtful debts should remain the same. The total amount charged to the income statement will be and the total amount credited to trade receivables will be

4. A sole trader paid her buildings insurance policy on 30 September 20X1 for the year commencing 1 October 20X1. Where will this appear in the statement of financial position for the year ended 30 September 20X1?
Other receivables
Other payables

5. A partnership wishes to create an allowance for doubtful debts at 31 December 20X2 of £628. What will be the double entry to record this?
Dr allowance for doubtful debts £628, Cr allowance for doubtful debts adjustment £628
Dr allowance for doubtful debts £628, Cr trade receivables £628