Previous year deprecation expense issue.

Reaction score
Hi all,

Little bit of an issue. I am a bookkeeper fairly fresh out of college (first accounting job, actually) taking over for someone who has worked at the company for a few years. The previous bookkeeper made some erroneous adjusting entries for depreciation in 2012, and attempted to remedy them in 2013. Essentially, at the end of 2012, she made adjusting entries to our office equipment and building accounts to account for depreciation. Here's where the problem starts: In 2012, the adjusting entries she made credited accumulated depreciation and debited the fixed asset account (she made the same error on both office equipment and building depreciation), which is of course incorrect. She realized this, and at the beginning of 2013 she made entries that debited depreciation expense and credited the asset accounts of both the building and equipment.

The entries she made leaves our company with correct amounts for the asset accounts and the accumulated depreciation accounts, but it leaves our depreciation expense overstated in comparison to what we actually have on our depreciation schedule. What kind of entry would I have to make to resolve this issue? We have not yet closed the books on 2013, so we are hoping to remedy this before we close them. We are running Peachtree.

Thank you!

Last edited:

bklynboy

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States