UK Problem following death of business owner

Reaction score
30 months ago my wife opened a shoe shop. It was registered at companies house as a limited liability company, I was appointed company secretary and the my wife and children as directors, however the only person with any involvement with the finances of the business was my wife who sadly she died on march 4. This leaves me with a mess to sort out.

The end of year was October 31. I know the company return has been made but there is no work done on the accounts. The company has no debts or outstanding invoices and It is not registered for VAT. The company was formed by a loan from my wife's savings and any surplus money made from trading was a repayment of loan to company. I need to get to the situation where I can close the company up but I am not really sure of what I need to do or who I inform. I am capable of submitting accounts as I am a qualified accounting technician.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Truemanbrown

VIP Member
Reaction score
30 months ago my wife opened a shoe shop. It was registered at companies house as a limited liability company, I was appointed company secretary and the my wife and children as directors, however the only person with any involvement with the finances of the business was my wife who sadly she died on march 4. This leaves me with a mess to sort out.

The end of year was October 31. I know the company return has been made but there is no work done on the accounts. The company has no debts or outstanding invoices and It is not registered for VAT. The company was formed by a loan from my wife's savings and any surplus money made from trading was a repayment of loan to company. I need to get to the situation where I can close the company up but I am not really sure of what I need to do or who I inform. I am capable of submitting accounts as I am a qualified accounting technician.

Any advice would be gratefully received.