Quicken -- data file size... too big?

Discussion in 'Quicken' started by John Blaustein, Aug 19, 2003.

  1. I'm currently using Quicken H&B 2002 and may upgrade to Q2004. My data file
    (QDF) is a little over 18MB, containing data going back ten years or so. I
    periodically do a File>Copy and Validate and have had almost no problems
    over the past several years. My PC is fast enough that speed is no issue
    with a Quicken data file of this size.

    Is there such a thing as "too big" for the Quicken data file? Is there a
    point at which having a large data file can start to cause problems?

    Thanks for any thoughts on this.

    John
     
    John Blaustein, Aug 19, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. John Blaustein

    R. C. White Guest

    Hi, John.

    As you know, we've been asking each other that question for years, ever
    since 2 MB was a big *.qdf file. Some have reported that Quicken told them
    2 MB or 5 MB or 10 MB was the limit. I've never used H&B or QuickBooks,
    just successive versions of Quicken Deluxe (or whatever the current name
    was) since 1990. My *.QDF is now just over 13 MB; all my *.Q* files total
    16 MB. I've not noticed any sluggishness on my AMD XP2000+/512 MB RAM
    machine running WinXP Pro and Quicken 2002 Deluxe.

    I'll be watching for reports from users who finally hit an actual size
    barrier. Until then, I guess we'll keep trading messages like these here.
    ;<)

    RC
     
    R. C. White, Aug 19, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. John Blaustein

    Steve Guest

    Ahhh, the pleasures of DOS. :)

    Still using DOS version 8, file size for 10+ years of data is a bit
    over 1MB.
     
    Steve, Aug 19, 2003
    #3
  4. John Blaustein

    haroldyoung

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble with Quicken. Here's the notes I sent to Intuit
    1- Getting message, “an error occurred during the last task please restart Quicken”
    2- Sometimes Quicken locks up – hour glass remains an hour or more 3- Seem to have same problems on PC and also on laptop 4-I do lots of data entry on Sandisk flash drive
    5-Validate duplicate file shows shows no trouble 6-Have re-installed Q 2002 HB on pc – no improvement 7-I can open a backup file perhaps 6 times then it too gives error message or locks up 8-File has 13 years data accumulation 9-File size = 33.2 MB
    10- All backup files seem to have the same problem

    Intuit does not support older versions - their advice is to upgrade to a supported version. Computer shop people tell me older Versions of Quicken do have a limited maximim file size. Can anyone add to this?? Harold in Canada
     
    haroldyoung, Feb 22, 2011
    #4
  5. John Blaustein

    Terry

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using Quicken since Jan 1995 (22 years at this point). I had upgraded once from v2000 to v2002, and have been using v2002 to this day, now on my Win10 computer. Today I encountered the error: “an error occurred during the last task please restart Quicken”. At that point, it would crash & close everytime upon launch. A backup file opens fine. I searched online, and yup, my QDF file just exceeded 32MB. I guess my options are:
    1) Archive the existing QDF, start a brand new QDF, and re-create all the accounts, sched trans, etc.
    2) Upgrade Quicken to a version that would support a larger QDF file size. (What is the file size limit in v2004, does anyone know?)
    Are there any other options?
     
    Terry, Jan 21, 2017
    #5
  6. John Blaustein

    Don Wolf

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Quicken data file is 74 MB and am having big problem with program dropping and even inserting entries 5 to 10 years back. How big can the data files be? Am using 2016 Quicken Rental.
     
    Don Wolf, Jun 25, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.