Reconcile Gone


B

Bruce

On one of my accounts, I entered an "R" in the clear column which popped a
question regarding permanent manual reconciliation, which I (mistakenly)
accepted. Now I can not get this account to schedule or post a payment
after it is reconciled. All of my other accounts work fine.

Bruce
 
Ad

Advertisements

F

Fred Smith

Accepting Quicken's offer to turn off smart reconcile should not affect the
account. It should still operate normally whether you replied yes or no. I
think the problem is somewhere else.

What to you mean by "post a payment after it is reconciled"?

Give us some more information and we'll help track it down.
 
B

Bruce

This problem hasn't prevented the use of this credit card account. It will
no longer automatically jump (when done reconciling) to the "Write Checks"
window where it links to the online payee, like my other accounts do. BTW,
I do not write any checks, I use electronic payments. However, my normal
accounts go through this "Write Checks" procedure. Since this one account
skips the check writing step, I have to first reconcile, which completes to
the "Run a Report" message, then I manually enter the payment in my checking
account.

Hope this clarifies my problem. Remember this warning message said
something like ... "if you do not run reconcile (override), then this will
be turned off permanently."
 
J

John Pollard

Bruce said:
This problem hasn't prevented the use of this credit card account.
It will no longer automatically jump (when done reconciling) to the
"Write Checks" window where it links to the online payee, like my
other accounts do. BTW, I do not write any checks, I use electronic
payments. However, my normal accounts go through this "Write Checks"
procedure. Since this one account skips the check writing step, I
have to first reconcile, which completes to the "Run a Report"
message, then I manually enter the payment in my checking account.

Hope this clarifies my problem. Remember this warning message said
something like ... "if you do not run reconcile (override), then this
will be turned off permanently."
It can be difficult to determine Intuit's intent in certain situations and
this seems to me to be one of those situations. What you did (manually
reconciling a transaction), sounds to me like you turned off the "smart
reconcile" feature for that account. Was this the message you got when you
manually reconciled the transaction? "Are you sure you want to manually
reconcile (R) this transaction? Warning: doing so will reset Smart Reconcile
for this account."

I do not understand why disabling Smart Reconcile would alter the step(s)
subsequent to the reconciliation, but if that is what happened, perhaps it
is possible to "restore" the smart reconcile feature to the account. Try
writing down the contents of the transaction that you manually reconciled;
then delete it. Then add it back and do not manually reconcile it, use the
account "Reconcile" feature.
 
B

Bruce

Yes, this was the message. I can not remember which transaction I entered
the "R" in the "Clr" register column, it was several months ago. I also can
not activate Reconcile from the scheduled payments in the checking accounts
"Overview" tab under the actions column, as I can do with the others. This
must be another clue that the Smart Reconcile for this account is disabled.
To reconcile, I switch to the problem account, then click on "Reconcile" at
the top of the "Register" tab. I am reluctant to try copying this account
to a new one, because of all the links to other accounts. The bottom line
question is, "How can you toggle the Smart Reconcile switch?
 
Ad

Advertisements

J

John Pollard

Bruce said:
The bottom line
question is, "How can you toggle the Smart Reconcile switch?
My understanding is that deleting the transaction that turned Smart
Reconcile off is the way to turn it back on. I do not know of any other
way - though that does not mean there is no other way.

Try making a Quicken copy of your fileset; in that copy try deleting one
transaction at a time from the approximate time period to see if you can
determine which one was the culprit. If the method works, you can discard
the copy of your fileset, and delete the specific transaction from your
regular file.

One other possibility would be to try unreconciling the last few months of
transactions (using Find/Replace), then doing a "Reconcile" on all of them;
perhaps if Reconcile was the last action to set the Clr flag (rather than
having it set manually), that would be sufficient. This is just a wild
guess - and I would, again, try this in a copy of the fileset.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Reconcile account history - gone 0
USA Reconciling transaction 2
OBSOL--Are They Gone? 1
Gone Fission 4
gone forever? 7
Database gone 3
"Gone Away" 0
Transactions are gone 1

Top