Rules for childcare tax credit at the local YMCA

Reaction score
Hi,
We have a five-year-old child that was enrolled in pre-school for much of 2016. I'm using the H&R Block tax software to do my taxes this year. How can I receive a tax credit for this child care?

We pay about $750/month on our credit card.

I believe the YMCA is a tax-exempt organization. Do I need to file a separate form?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi. Seeing as how nobody has answered your question as of yet, I'll do my best to answer the question myself (I'm currently a college student, however, I've taken tax courses and am currently in the VITA program for my class "Applied Income Taxes". Besides, your question isn't too complicated ;)).

First of all, the rules for declaring child care expenses.

Rule 1: Your child must be a "qualifying person".

Essentially, the boundaries of this rule are that the qualifying person must be related to you, then you (or your spouse) must provide more than 50% of the income that supports the person, and finally, the person must live with you for more than 50% of the year. With that being said, I say that we can "check off" rule one as it seems that your child is obviously a qualifying person.

Rule 2: You (or your spouse) must have earned income during the year.

Obviously you can't deduct things from your taxes if you didn't make any money or you don't have any taxes to pay. :p

Rule 3: Your expenses must have been paid to allow you (or your spouse) to work while your child was being cared for.

This includes actively looking for work or attending college full-time.

Rule 4: You must make payments for child and dependent care to someone you (and your spouse) can't claim as a dependent.

Essentially, you can't pay your child's older brother to watch him and then claim the payment as a child care expense. Same goes for Grandma or Grandpa if either of them can be claimed as a dependent.