Should I Be An Accountant

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm just looking for some feedback as I'm currently majoring in Accounting. I currently have a good, stable job making $75k a year in the Philly suburbs and I'm going back to school because the VA GI Bill is paying for most of it. I plan on earning my degree in Accounting but not sure if I want to change careers. I'm mostly obtaining my degree because I want to take advantage of the funding opportunity by the VA as well as being an academic example for my 3 year old son when he gets older. My question is this, if I were to obtain a B.B.A. in Accounting or possibly a graduate degree and CPA, could you see potential advancement from where I currently am? In other words, I don't think my education in Accounting will ever provide more earnings potential than I'm already making. I'm currently an insurance fraud investigator and perhaps that background could integrate with an Accounting degree? Not sure but just wanted to gather some thoughts from people who live Accounting.

Thanks in advance for all of your feedback!

Counterofbeans

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
My question is this, if I were to obtain a B.B.A. in Accounting or possibly a graduate degree and CPA, could you see potential advancement from where I currently am?
Granted, it very much depends on a whole host of factors, but, my immediate response would be, "Absolutely"

In other words, I don't think my education in Accounting will ever provide more earnings potential than I'm already making. I'm currently an insurance fraud investigator and perhaps that background could integrate with an Accounting degree? Not sure but just wanted to gather some thoughts from people who live Accounting.