USA Starting a new Career in Accounting - Questions

Which education option should I pursue towards a CPA?

• Online Classes - Once you earn a CPA your education doesn't matter much

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Masters in Accounting - You don't want to be the only person in the room without a Master's

• Other (comment below)

• Total voters
Reaction score
Country
United States
I graduated college about a decade ago with a Bachelor's in Business Administration majoring in Entrepreneurship and minoring in Finance. Since then I have worked for a large commercial real estate company and have become certified as a commercial real estate appraiser. I have appraised everything from vacant land in small towns to 10-story office buildings and large shopping centers in large cities. I enjoy the analytical side of it and I'm frequently working with income statements for commercial properties to determine the projected net operating income based on historical data, market information, and my own judgment/assumptions.

I have come to the point where I don't think this is a good fit long term as the emphasis is all on much you can bill each month (I work on straight commission albeit setup as a base salary with a draw) and the quality of the work is secondary. I'm the kind of person who finds it very hard to do anything less than my best and that takes more time and means I bill far less than my colleagues. My boss expects me to bill $20k a month and I'm normally around 15-16k while some of my colleagues are consistently at $30k or more. I frequently I end up working nights and weekends to meet a deadline and that's hard on my family. All to make about $55-60k a year without much hope of that increasing substantially.