UK Starting as a trainee in a small to medium-sized practice

Reaction score
Hi, I graduated this summer in Accounting and Finance and didn't do great; I achieved a 2:2. I do have excellent A-Level grades with four grade As in difficult subjects and straight A*s/As at GCSE. However my degree result doesn't meet the requirements for large and many medium-sized firms.

I am therefore setting my sights on working as a trainee in a smaller firm. I currently work in a very low-skilled job but I have never had any accountancy work experience and my question relates to this. I am quite scared that when I start working, because much of what I learnt doesn't relate that much to working in a small practice that I might look stupid having to have basic tasks explained to me.

For example, all the different types of accounts I have learnt during my course, has started with the trial balance being given to us. Getting to that point though, we have never had to do. It has all been preparing accounts from the trial balance and lots of theory.

I know that before this comes entering data from the source documents into the books of prime entry i.e. the Journal. From the journal, ledger accounts are produced such as the cash book, purchases ledger etc and the only format for these I know are T-accounts. Then from the T-accounts you produce the trial balance and then the necessary accounts. So what I would like to know is how does this process occur in a real-life small practice? Is the journal kept on computer software? Are t-accounts used? Is anything done by hand or all on the computer? Are all these processes done in a small practice? Any guidance would be much appreciated and if anyone knows any resources for practising the processes before getting to the trial balance, that would be great.

Many Thanks

Reaction score
NorthernNinja,