USA Use of Excel for QuickBooks tasks?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a small business owner who is learning QuickBooks (Pro 2015 Desktop) because I fired an off-site accounting consultant who was handling all my accounting. Very small company $250K revenues; 6 checks per month; 2 ACH's; one credit card with appx 10 line items per month; one bank account with <15 transactions per month; one line of credit; 1-2 deposits per month; 1-2 client invoices written per month each with less than 10 line items. Low transaction account.

I am able to complete these routine monthly tasks in 2-5 hours.

My accounting consultant was billing 25 - 45 hours per month where the Audit Log Reports showed 3 to 6 hours of activity in the QB file.

When confronted in a contentious meeting, she explained that she did all her work in Excel ----- migrating data into and out of QuickBooks. Exporting and Importing QB data does not appear on the Audit Trail Log Reports (Desktop versions) and that was her explanation for the discrepancy.

Question: How many accountants on the forum use Excel to perform their QB work? If so, does that use approach the ratio just mentioned? QB is a powerful software that should be able to handle all accounting functions. I can see exporting of financial statements, AP and AR aging, Chart of Accounts, etc. but not routine tasks such as entering checks, expense reports, invoice pass through's, etc.

Steve-LevelUp

VIP Member
Reaction score
Country
Canada
I have been an extensive user of Quickbooks for many years, and I have not had success in using excel imports/exports extensively. I used Quickbooks for a $7m business, so our activity was extensive. The only time that we needed to use excel was for analytics and review purposes. I do not want to specifically say that your accountant was doing something in appropriate, but in my experience, Quickbooks just isn't used in that way.