USA What makes the net method GAAP compliant?

Reaction score
Hi I'm a sophomore accounting student taking my fundamentals of financial accounting class.In chapter 5 of my textbook we had learned what the gross method of accounting cost for inventory at purchase. Chapter 6 shows in an appendix the Net Method. I really like the Net method, however, I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around what makes it gaap compliant.

I'm begining I might have a gap in my understanding so I'm hoping somebody would happen to notice and just fill me in.

In the net method, just like gross method, transportation, insurance, possibly storage amounts are added to inventory cost. Things such as warehouses and employee wages are not typically included.

Either the Gross or Net method, a lost discount is still expensed. It's just that the gross method lost discount(which is bundled in with the value of inventory) gets expensed when the inventory is sold, while the net method lost discount is expensed immeadiately and possibly not in the same period as the exact revenue from it was generated.
-which defys the matching principle.

And I know that GAAP requires that interest expense be regarded as an operating expense so I can't justify it as a financing expense.

Can somebody help me get this?

I feel like my exact problem might be that I am missing something. Such as can financing activities result in operating costs?

What exactly is financing in accounting? I know that it is whenever a company does anything to aquire money that can be used to fuel operating activities. But looking at the net method I'm starting to thinking I'm missing something in this definition.

Thank you! This is my first post I hope to be active on this forum.