USA What would you do in my place?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have a somewhat insane life situation. I graduated with a BS in Accounting/Finance in December 2013 from a state university in Florida. I had all A's in my major, took graduate courses to be eligible to sit for CPA and basically went through the accounting program like knife through butter. Despite being one of the very best accounting students in my school I never expected to work for the Big 4 because their standards were very particular(so being ignored by them meant nothing to me). My first warning sign was lack of interest from the Grant Thornton's and McGladrey's of this world(not even an oncampus interview while they do recruit at my school). Even local firms did not care. At this point I have a position that does not pay anywhere near what a college graduate would be earning and does not require a college degree(nor is it related to accounting). Everywhere else I had complete rejection, even employment agencies were a waste of time. My college experience seems like a scam to me in retrospect. Accounting was supposed to be the "safe" major. I saw people who were barely pulling through coursework get jobs. At this point I might as well go into nursing or some kind of trade. With every year the value of my degree decays and there is no point in getting a masters or passing the CPA without work experience in the field.

Reaction score
Country
United States
There's got to be something wrong or off with your resume. As long as your GPA was above 3.2 you should at least be getting interviews. You could try to see what strings you can pull with alumni or friends who know people in positions already that can hook you up.

Reaction score
Country
United States